What I have spent time doing today…

Yes, I have a huge to do list.

A to do list that I really should be working on. But you know what? Once you put something on a list, it’s no longer a vague, abstract idea of something to do to fill time later. No, the second it goes down on that paper, it becomes a heavy THING. A THING you have to do. And that, my friends, is exactly what I do not feel like doing right now!

What was that? You want to know what I’ve been doing instead? Well, fine. I’ll show you. (And not say a word about how nosy you’re being! lol)

Ready? You sure?

Click on them and they get bigger.

These were all very quick changes that were made for free on a website called Picnik. There are lots of options you can choose from. All of the things I was able to do to my pics were free, yay! I have a few favorite buttons that I just love to use on my pictures.

My favorites in the Create> Effects tab are: Cross Process (my all time fave, or at least my right now fave lol) 1960’s, CinemaScope, Lomo-ish, Vignette, Matte, Sephia and Black and White.

Also in the Create section, you will see a Frames tab. I love rounded edges on my photos so of course I’m thrilled that they have that option for free. There’s also a Polaroid option, a museum matte, a border and a drop shadow you can use.

You can add text (which I showed on my last picture, but the thumbnails may be too tiny for you to tell) as well as doodles, flowers, crazy frames, etc.

What I love about Picnik: It’s user friendly and the free options are pretty good.

What I am not wild about: It feels kind of restrictive. I’ve used other online photo editing sites that feel like you have a lot more freedom to tweak your photos and add more to them. However, their formats were no where near as easy to use, or as quick. I didn’t notice any lagging on Picnic at all, even while it was doing a bunch of things at once, so I was really thrilled with that. It’s down and dirty and fast for editing pics for your blog, which I so appreciate since that’s one area I really need to shape up in!

So this is what I’ve spent valuable time on tonight – editing my pictures for no good reason other than I felt like it. Go play with Picnik and tell me what you think! It’s free and easy, just like all the best things in life. (hehe).

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

