Failure, failure…success!

Today was kind of a failure day in some ways.

I ate GARBAGE. Seriously. What happened was, I forgot to take good snacks with me (because we were supposed to just be running a quick errand, or so I thought) and got to starving while we were in town. So instead of a salad or fruit or something, I had to have chili cheese fries. Just HAD to. You know. That whole gun to my head thing.

Then, after we got home, we were waist deep in kitchen cabinet reno land when dinnertime rolled around. Of course, I wasn’t prepared because our kitchen was literally gutted and there was no where to chop, wash or cook one single thing. So the husband talked me into pizza. Did I protest? Nope. Not once. I looked at the apples and cans of tuna and just thought, I’m tired and frustrated.

But you know what really happened? I was just unprepared and I waited too long to get my act together. Here’s a word to the wise, or at least those who want to lose weight…plan ahead and be prepared!! Tuna comes in pouches, chicken breasts come in individual packets, apples have their own wrapping you can actually eat…don’t be caught off guard.

The other failure was that I tried to make a gathered skirt to wear tomorrow and my gathering threads broke. Later I realized it was because I was pulling the top threads rather than the bobbin threads. My own fault for not researching more beforehand, but it was still frustrating and upsetting and I just gave up and shoved it away. This is the fifth sewing project that has ended in a nasty heap for me lately. I honestly have not finished a single thing since my mother died. I feel like maybe there’s some connection there…she taught me how to sew, and now I can’t seem to sew in a straight line without her…but I am too tired and sick of thinking about it to work it all out right now. You know?

BUT there was a plus. My husband and I designed amazing kitchen storage that I plan on blogging about this week. I also have a quick weight bench tutorial in the works, so things are looking up around here!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

