Motivation

One of my new favorite blogs is Funky Junk Interiors. One of my new favorite posts of hers is all about staying motivated and positive and has tons of great pictures (she’s a true blogger!) and inspiration.

So much inspiration, in fact, that it reminded me of why I started this blog in the first place! It was right there, plain as the words on my screen, and yet it felt like the missing piece to a huge puzzle I’ve been trying to solve. It was right there, #6 on her list:
6. Share the results with someone that cares.

Why is this so important for us? I’m not sure why it’s important to you personally, but I know why it’s important for me. In my house, when someone sees me with a piece of fabric or a paintbrush or that certain crafting gleam in my eye, they all just tend to roll their eyes and say something like, “And what are you doing now?” It happens to get old. Quickly. When that attitude pops up one too many times, it eventually knocks any creativity right out of my little head and I just want to give up; I’m not tough enough, or more importantly, am not important enough to myself, to stand up to their critical attitudes and continue with my plans. So I thought, after a year or two of visiting other creative blogs and loving every second of it, that I would be a blogger too and get my validation that way.

Now, please don’t get me wrong. We should not need other people’s approval to feel good about ourselves and our creativity. It doesn’t matter what you’re doing – losing weight, baking a new dish, drafting a skirt pattern, making a quilt – being creative is an important part of who we are as humans, and getting in touch with that part of life is something we all need to do to grow as individuals. But, the cold hard fact is that we do tend to look for the approval of others, even if it’s just one other person. We tend to need that validation. It’s just an honest observation I’m making here, not meant to be offensive, just observant.

Anyway, back to me…I started this blog to share my creativity with others who share the same interests and ideas. But then my mother got cancer, my marriage got a little rocky, and life took all the creativity out of me for a year and a half. Now I am trying to find my way back to the me I used to be, only better, the me I want to be.

When I put up my new blog yesterday I thought that it would be motivating to set a goal to blog every day for the rest of April. But then, this morning, I woke up with a tiny little knot of dread in the corner of my stomach that didn’t go away and throbbed a little whenever I thought of this place (my blog, I mean). It wasn’t until I read the above post and thought about why I’d started this blog that I realized what was bothering me. I was dreading posting a blog today. I’d set a goal and didn’t want to fail, but I was also dreading doing the work!

Just like my work outs…the thought of taking an hour out for myself bugs me. Sweat and being sore bother me. But the results of meeting my personal goals are worth the pain and discomfort. And I think, with time, the work involved with making this blog what I want it to be – an online diary of my life and a place to share my creations with others – will be worth the discomfort.

So thank you Donna for getting my thoughts going, and thank you WordPress and my reader for letting my have my own corner of the internet to deal with that annoying little knot in the corner of my stomach (under my rib, if you must know) and work out the kinks. I am excited to push through the wall and see what kind of new muscles I come out of this with.

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

