A tip, for what it is worth!

Until three weeks ago I NEVER touched water. I would drink juice, caffeine free sodas and occasionally a glass of milk or coffee, but if someone offered me a sip of water, I’d turn up my nose and walk as far away as I could. I found it boring , tasteless, and didn’t see the point of it, frankly. My bad attitude towards anything healthy-ish was getting way out of control, I’m telling ya!

After yesterday’s post I was wondering what I should blog about next. For the most part, this blog is a jumbled mess of diary entries, rants and raves and crafting projects, so fitness tips probably don’t belong here. But, it is MY blog and my place in the internet, so what I say belongs, belongs!! Right? lol!

Anyway –

A question a lot of people are asking me lately is, “What have you been doing to lose all that weight?” which makes me cringe a little (at the fact that I even had ‘all that weight’ to lose) but also makes the hours of sweat and tears more worthwhile. So I decided to share some of my tips here. They are well known articles of advice that you can find anywhere, but since I know that they work, I thought I would post them here too.

My number one tip is…Drink Water.

Seriously.

I know, I know, I was just talking about how I hate water and it’s dull and blah blah blah…but I was wrong, and so are you if that’s the way you feel about water.

There are several schools of thought on how much water we should all be slugging back every day, but with all of that aside, the fact is, we need water to survive. Our bodies crave it, use it up and need more, even when we are not paying attention to how much we actually need. My rule of thumb? At least a glass of water an hour. I use a mason jar (because we are very upscale around these parts, can’t you tell) and add a splash of lemon juice, because I love the way it makes my mouth feel clean and sparkly.

A second tip is to use a straw. Why? Because somehow, it seems easier to drink water out of a straw. It goes down faster and smoother. For me, anyway.

So, what worked for me and what motivated me to switch to water was telling myself I only had to drink one mason jar full an hour, and that if I added lemon it was really just sugar-less lemonade. The straw is also incredibly helpful. Trust me, I know what I’m talking about!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

2 Responses to A tip, for what it is worth!

  1. Cailin says:

    Water keeps your other organs working smoothly as well. I have digestive problems (the end bits of digesting), and I always have. Until I started drinking at least 9 oz glasses of water a day. I feel great now. My skin looks better too.

    It’s also cheaper at restaurants.

  2. messymama says:

    I have really dry skin most of the time, but when I started drinking more water, I’ve noticed a huge improvement in how my skin looks. You are so right – it has tons of benefits!

    Since I very rarely eat out these days, I didn’t consider the price factor, thank you for pointing that out.

Leave a Reply

