No news is good news?

Time sure does fly when you can’t use your computer because it needs too much work! Finally, just a few hours ago, we finished installing all the new hardware and now I am up and running again, yay! Things have been quiet around here but not by my choice, it was forced on me by a broken computer, I swear!

Anyway, here are some pictures of all the things that have been going on around here lately.

Photobucket
Pajama pants from old sheets

Photobucket
Chunky yarn camera cases

Photobucket

crochet
Doll house area rugs

Eli,Brookie
Perfectly wonderful baby hugs

Frankie,Eli
Perfectly wonderful husband hugs

Bean bag bed,Gracie,Kate
Homemade bean bag beds and bright pink walls

crochet
Frogged crochet projects

Eli,Me
Dirty faces with me next to them but only when you click on it

Me,Megan,Brookie
A hammock project gone wild that ended in a happy mess on the grass

purse
A new purse with lots of applique

purse

pants
Sexy lounge pants with a cool waistband and my first button holes (which were a fail, btw)

t-shirt pants
Hubby’s work shirts become cool work out pants for me

dd's skirt
And finally, lots of rainbow squares and a still missing hemline!

As you can tell, even though I have been silent here, I have been busy elsewhere.

On a personal note – I am beginning to forget the utter hell that consisted of 2009. In fact, I was just trying to count it out last night, and I think it’s been a full four or five months since I’ve felt that awful panic feeling. I am still working at getting my entire life back under my control, and getting on some kind of routine that covers all the major areas of life – there are still a few things I need to work on and work better at. But for the most part I am pretty content. I wish I could say what the magic cure was so that I could prevent others from feeling the way I did for almost a whole year…but really, there was no magic day that it all just stopped. It just kind of melted away a little at a time. The trick is to stay busy and not think about how sick you are. For the most part, the biggest thing I did to get over it was to try to ignore it. Not forget about it – that leaves room for it to sneak up on you and grab you all over again. But ignoring it – acknowledging it’s presence and then moving on with your day anyway – seemed to work well. I just decided to quit letting the anxiety tell me what I could and couldn’t do. I am even back to eating small amounts of chocolate, drinking caffeine, and today, I actually had two beers!! Before, I was too terrified at the thought so those things hurting me to even try it. Now I am trying to just conquer the fear and do the things I am afraid of a little at a time. I guess it would be considered exposure therapy, but on a much smaller scale than I always imagine it would be done – I’m not heading to the airport or sleeping with snakes any time soon! 🙂

As far as life in the house goes, things are a little bumpy and somewhat stressful, but no more than usual. We are, of course, right in the middle of ten projects at once and trying to finish them all is a little exhausting. I have gotten rid of so much stuff though, about twelve big black bags full have been taken to the thrift store, and we took four car loads to the dump during a neighborhood cleanup (don’t worry, they had people on hand to separate the old furniture and clothes and anything that could be used from the actual trash itself). My sister and I just wrote up a chore chart to hang on the fridge so we shall see how that works out. All I know is, my week long strike (a post will be coming about that sooner or later) people have been pitching in a lot more around here, for which I am grateful.

And I think that’s about it. I have lots of little stuff in the works, but nothing major that I can talk about right now. Sorry again for the disappearing act and I will be back soon with more rambling notes and fun ideas!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

