Let’s do it right this time.

So, I just spent an hour writing a great post full of links, pictures, and a running commentary. Then I hit the wrong button and lost everything I’d just typed. So this time around, there will be links and pictures, and very limited commentary. I’m getting sleepy, what can I say? (Not to mention totally disgusted with my own mistakes, sheesh). Anyway. On to the show…

Oh, Fransson! is on my top 5 favorite blogs ever. Look for her paintbox quilts and wonkiness. Love it! See how many pics she gets? That’s because – she is awesome!



Notes From the Patch shows another way to finish the edges of a quilt – with an adorable ruffle.

Curbly.com shows how to make Shrinky Dinks out of #6 plastic.

comfortstitching is an amazing wealth of ideas and tips and great pics.

Craftzine shows how to make cool pencil/storage cases out of recycled cereal boxes that actually stay closed. Love it!

The Polka Dot Chair is full of good ideas and fun tuts, including a quick-change corsage necklace that I want to make really soon.

Patchwork Posse is another quilting blog with a great binding tut and some fun spring posie quilt blocks that are so adorable.

alisa burke shows how to make a perfect petticoat that I really want.

Doctrine and Diapers shows how to make this great nightgown out of your husband’s t’s.

Mode Bake Shop has so many great projects, you really need to look around at their posts and take it all in. I want to make this candy heart quilt soon.

Country Living.com did this article on how to make terrariums out of picture frames. I don’t know that this is something I will ever have the patience to make, but I would like to, because it’s perfect and charming.

Songbird is incredible. She has beautiful colors splashed around everywhere and great ideas. Also, she just blogged about a site called Tumblr that is a visual bookmarking aid, so maybe one day I won’t spend an hour blogging my favorite projects and then lose it all!! (lol)

The Happy Zombie has a great piece about sashing your quilts, which I really intend to read one of these days. It’s the one part of quilting I’ve been meaning to try and keep thinking of reasons why I should put it off, because it’s intimidating. I will overcome my fear!

sew4home has a great tutorial on journal covers.

Trey and Lucy is a blog where you’ll find a little bit of everything. She has lots of family memories and photos, and tons of cool crafting and sewing tutorials, links and ideas. I also like her style of writing and the way she uses color and font size to make her page all cheerful. It’s fun.

Ruffles and Stuff is a blog with lots of good tutorials and great colors and an all around good ‘feel’ to it. I want to make these earrings one year.

Of course, Sew Mama Sew would end up here and this great nightie tutorial is just one reason why.

Film in the fridge is where I learned how to make string quilt blocks, so that’s what I’m linking to. But look around at her site – this is some serious eye candy for quilters and sewers. This is probably #4 on my top 10 fave blogs. (That may have to become it’s own post here shortly.)

And you know what…I think I am going to stop right there. For two reasons. One, I’m getting really tired and stiff from sitting here this long; and two, it just dawned on me that I should probably organize these links into categories. What do you think? I could do all the quilting links in one spot, all the home decor in another, etc. That might keep it from being so overwhelming.

And the saddest part is that I’m not even halfway done with all the links I have in my unorganized bookmarks…no telling how many are still in my folders…this is what happens when you don’t organize things as you save them! Learn from me, people!! (lol) 😉

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

