Laundry soap and scallops

First, I made it out into the sunny yard with my jug of yummy smelling laundry soap and my camera. Here are the results.

Doesn’t it look neat? Okay, probably not to you; but to me, it looks pretty cool, since it’s something I did on my own. And I did a lot more laundry with it today. It smells fantastic.

Since I was on a roll with the projects this week, I thought I’d tackle another one: an interior decorating adventure in DD’s room. We realized a theme had sort of been revealing itself for the past few months – an Outdoors Garden with lots of flowers theme. So, we went to the store tonight at 9 (because that’s when all grand projects begin, don’t you know that by now) and picked out a very pink shade of pink. Then we came home and I went to work. The first hard part of the whole thing was trying to figure out how to get a scallop shape on the wall. After a few hit and misses, I cut the shape out of a piece of cardboard we had laying around, and traced it on the wall with a pencil. Then we pulled the baseboard off (since it wasn’t siliconed in yet it was easy), taped a drop cloth down and went to work.

This is what it’s looking like so far.

Ignore my red face and crazy hair, it was really hot in that bedroom – it got up in the late 70’s here today, and this house really holds the heat.

This is how I’m handling the corners – by pushing the cardboard scallop into the corner as tightly as I can get it, so it continues around the corner and onto the next wall.

The hardest part is painting right along the pencil line in the scallop’s edges, but I did discover a few tricks. One is that if you lay the brush flat, with all of the bristles against the wall, and drag it towards you while following the shape, the paint tends to flow really well. Another is that it’s best to not take huge strokes, or little tiny ones, but to keep the pressure even and pull as far as you can without going off track.

We finished the wall that is in progress up there, and also most of the wall above the closet tonight. It was pretty fun – DD, my littlest sister and I worked on it all together, which makes it an even better project.

Hope you are enjoying your night/day and that your projects are going well!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

