What I did today

Was not documented by my camera…yet. I will try to get pics tomorrow. I seem to always forget I have the camera until after dark, and it’s hard to get good shots at night in the house.

Today I made laundry detergent. I love it so far. I am a little skeptical of course, but I did wash my husband’s work jacket and it came out cleaner than usual, so I am impressed so far. I have heard that sometimes these homemade soaps can cause more fading and piling than commercial brands, but I don’t really see either of those being too big a problem in my household. We are all pretty hard on our clothes and they don’t tend to last long enough to really fade anyway.

I also started a crochet rag rug. Yeah, I know I talk incessantly about the toothbrush rugs, and I do still intend to finish the ones I’ve already started, but they seem to be a little too slow and tedious right now. I need something that’s going to give me a little bit more instant gratification. So far, in less than half an hour, I’ve put 5 rows on the crochet rug, so that’s pretty sweet.

I will be uploading some Youtube video here in a few days that feature the toothbrush rugs and are a series of tutorials. I’ll link to ’em here too so you guys can find them easily.

Oh, one more thing that I did today…took a whole bunch more stuff to the thrift store down the road. I packed my SUV full of it and hauled it away. I am tired of holding on to things for my sisters/mom or for that ‘just in case’ day…so I am fighting back to get some space in this place! It’s really fun once you quit thinking about how much you’re getting rid of and start seeing how much you are actually gaining. Less stuff = less stuff to have to keep picked up and cleaned up, and that means a whole lot to me!!

So what about you? What’d you do today?

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

