Things…

Are good and busy around my world lately. Unfortunately, the desire to blog has shriveled up and blown away like dead leaves in a hurricane, and guess why? Because I don’t have a camera anymore. And to me, blog posts without pictures are like food without smell…only half the goodness that could be had, and a sense of dusty crumbs in your throat that you kind of detest.

That being said…I do have some things to share. Here is a scan (yes, I can scan, yay!) of my latest art journal page:

Under that yellow and blue flap it says, Everything deserves a chance to be part of something imperfectly beautiful. Even You.

I made this out of recycled papers from magazines and books. The background is an acrylic painting on plain old computer paper. It’s a mixed media piece – there is pen work, painting, collage, and pencil as well as crayon and even a bit of eyeliner! I had a lot of fun putting it together, and I did it to remind myself that even I am worth another chance. It was really relaxing and I plan on doing more pages like this in my art journal. Some of the techniques I used came from this blog, and more specifically, the videos in her Youtube playlist. While I don’t have all of the fancy paint markers and stuff, the overall effect I got with regular Sharpies and felt tipped markers was still really fun and pleasing.

I find that a lot of times, the hardest part of being true to the intention of my art journal – which is to capture my thoughts in any way outside of the box of just writing black text on white paper – is to let myself go and just be intuitive and not second guess each and every choice. The second hardest part is remembering that this is my journal, not an art gallery display for everyone else to see – it only has to please me! It is really strange to craft in that frame of mind but I am working at it a little bit at a time.

Here is another piece I did last weekend while I was sick. It’s black ink and white paper and that’s it. I call it Alice’s Garden, but since it’s still laying on my desk instead of matted and framed like I’d planned, maybe it doesn’t deserve a real name, lol.

I don’t know if I already posted this, but even if I did, I love it so much I don’t mind talking about it: My wonderful rainbow quilt. This is the first piece I actually finished the ‘right’ way, by handstitching the binding, and I love it. I can’t wait to get started on another quilt, and in fact, just bought a bunch of fabric for that exact purpose.

There has also been a mini art quilt…

…that is the basis of a collection of potholders I am designing for my kitchen.

And a cupcake embroidery that is handing on my wall…

And my first ever knitted project: a hat.

I have been busy, it just hasn’t shown up here on my poor neglected little blog! I am finding out that posting things on Craftster is a lot of fun and very rewarding but it makes it hard to want to repost stuff here. If that makes sense anyway!

On the home front, we have been busy moving people out and in and around. One sister moved out, the youngest and her husband moved in, but not before I came up with the brilliant idea of switching my bedroom out for the quietest and darkest one. The house has been in a mild state of controlled chaos but it is now officially under control – my last load of laundry is in the machines and every room has been scrubbed and organized, except the kitchen, which is tomorrow. I’ve gotten rid of tons of stuff (dropped it off at the local thrift store and made new friends, lol) and feel like I am finally getting my life in order! It is pretty amazing to make it through a whole day and do the things I’m supposed to do and not cry or throw up or freak out even once. I feel like a new person, honestly. I’ve also been losing weight pretty fast again, I don’t know if it’s the weather or the fact that I am so busy, but at least this time my hair isn’t falling out and my skin isn’t turning gray!

Oh, and I am now ‘working’ again – taking care of a 2 year old from 6 AM until about 4 PM, and also picking another little girl up from school at 2 and watching her until about 6. It has been busy, and I hate getting up so early, but it’s really good for Grace to have a friend over in the afternoons, and it has really sharpened my teaching skills to have two 8 year olds who need help with their work. It’s also made more of a schedule for my days, and as much as I resisted it, it’s actually helping a ton. Just don’t tell anyone I admitted that. 😉

On that note, it is now officially 3:00 AM and I officially have to be up and out of here in three short hours, so it’s time to turn this computer off and crawl in bed. Have a great Tuesday!!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

