Snow!! Or, What To Do When The Bizarre Happens

Photo credit goes to Shea and/or Lane!

So, for those of you who know me and where we live, you will understand the import of what I’m about to say.

For those of you who DON’T know me and my town, here’s the lowdown: We live in California. Not on the beach, and not where it’s sunny 364 days a year, but still, we live in California and down in the valley. The most winter weather we usually have is a few windy and rainy days a week. An hour up the highway in the mountains, it snows quite heavily, and a few hours in the opposite direction, toward the Bay Area, the winter storms are of a much nastier tone than ours are. But where we live, in our town and surrounding areas, it’s not unusual to see people in capri’s and flip flops in January. Most of the time, if you need a sweater at all, you can safely strip it off by noon.

This week, it is so cold here that it actually snowed last night.

I don’t quite know exactly how to function, to be frank with you. Today I hovered near my bed and the electric blanket for 90% of the day. I realize I’m being a bit of a dramatic baby, but last week we played catch in the yard in t-shirts and Crocs, and now it’s so cold I can see my breath and the wind goes right through my clothes!

We go play in the snow a few times a winter. We drive up the highway with hot water for tea and hot chocolate in a thermos in the backseat with some snacks and dry clothes and a few blankets to snuggle in on the way home. We build snow men and throw chunks of ice (okay, that’s what I throw, they usually make snow balls, lol) until we get so cold that we can’t take it anymore, at which point we pack up and come home to our warm valley floor and are cheerfully sweating in the sunshine a few minutes after we get back.

I don’t know what to do when I can’t outrun the cold!

Okay, that’s really enough complaining now, I am ready to go crawl back into bed for the eighteenth hour today and cozy down for the night. Lots of love to you all, hope to hear from you soon!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

4 Responses to Snow!! Or, What To Do When The Bizarre Happens

  1. The Highway Man says:

    I am about to get your butt out there, so get ready!

  2. messymama says:

    I’m crying already! Seriously. lol.

  3. sheasa says:

    Looks like we may come down sunday or next saturday. I’ll call ya before we come. You are so in for it! LOL

  4. sheasa says:

    Oh, and I love you!!!

Leave a Reply

