I made something!

I really did finish something, but it wasn’t the R & A Quilt. Speaking of which, it’s time for an update: It’s still not done…lol. However, here are some in progress shots to show where I’m at…

Photobucket

Photobucket

I was in the planning stages here, trying to get an idea of what I wanted the final product to look like.

You know what though? I just don’t think this quilt is me anymore. It doesn’t feel wonky enough. (It’s a technical term. I know, I’m astounding with my amazing vocabulary. Be jealous. hehehe.) I am thinking about doing some log cabin blocks to set off the white borders and give it a little more personality. I’m also at that crucial stage where I need to decide how I’m going to quilt this baby. In the ditch? In the white sashing? If so, which color – red or blue, or trade off? Should I free motion (stipple) it or try an actual quilting design? And, should I machine quilt it or really push myself and learn how to hand quilt? This is one of those times where I wish I had a sewing machine with a few more decorative stitches. However, I did come across my walking foot, which luckily fits this machine as well as the one it was made for, so I’m pretty stoked about that. It opens up a few more options.

Now, on to a project I finished…

I’ve never made clothes. (Bet you didn’t notice the lack of clothing posts on this blog until I pointed that out, right?) I really don’t know how to finish seams properly…or follow patterns…or picture the steps needed to get the finished product to look right. But, when I came across this amazing tutorial by queenofdiy on Craftster, I knew I had to try it out. It’s supposed to only take about twenty minutes. It took me over an hour, but that was because I had to learn a few things on the way and also had to unpack half of my sewing room to find my elastic. Oh, and the little person I was making the pants for does not believe in holding still and threw a fit every time I had to try the pants on her and then take them back. There were lots of hugs and kisses along the way that ate into my time frame. But in the end, it was all worth it!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The bottoms are still not hemmed, and in that first picture she is trying to karate chop my head off, but all’s well that ends well, right?

Oh! I just remembered I made something else! I don’t have pictures of it right now, but I made a journal using the perfect binding method with PVA glue. I used the tutorial on this page but I did not use photos as my covers. Instead I used manila envelopes and then glued different scrap booking papers on top. I will try to post pics tomorrow but I just realized I’m not sure where I stuck it yesterday when I took it from my niece, so….on the off chance that I find it, have the camera handy AND manage to find five seconds of peace in which to shoot it, I will post pics.

Well that’s enough blogging for one night! I’m off to bed. Sleep tight, don’t let the bears in (you know who I’m talking to!) and don’t forget to leave me emails and comments telling me how much you care!!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

3 Responses to I made something!

  1. dreamingwideawake says:

    OMG, I love the pants! How adorable. You rock! I think the quilt is magnificent bethie. Maybe you don’t think it’s wonky, but give it some valium and then you’ll be on your way…LOL. I think a turquoise or teal ribbon border would be perfect. But red would look nice too. Lay off white for sure. That backing could be brown with turquoise polkadots or red with truq polkadots. I made a quilt for Olivia today, we finished the whole thing. Start to finish 4 hours, but its because it is a smaller one, you know a size for a little girl. Then we made hats, which I HAVE to show you for the kids. Each one takes 10 minutes start to finish! I will post some pics soon. Then I made hot rice pads out of super cute material and stuffed them with rice, orange oil, cinnamon, clove, and all spice ground up so they smell super good when heated. If you dont have a lot of $ it makes a great, cheap gift for family! I miss you so much. The kids are both fine, so we can come up this weekend or next. We have a ton of shopping to do at Walmart, so I will CALL you before we leave and maybe we can meet? I have to see ya! PS: after the bear incident we had a mountain lion stalking our dog! More on that later….

  2. messymama says:

    Yay yay! Call me and let’s meet for sure!

    I LOVE hot rice pads. The only thing I’m missing is the spices and essential oils to go inside so I haven’t been making any, but I for sure need one for my feet now that it’s getting colder. Never once did I think about putting all spice and stuff in there, that is such a good idea. I even have some! Thanks for the inspiration!

    I am still using lots of white with the quilt, but it’s a different white than what’s up there, it’s flannel. I love the way it sets it off. The ribbons sound like a good plan too, I will have to see what I have in my stash.

    Mountain lions are scary! We had some stalking us too and I was too afraid to go outside after dark or before sun up, the warden finally shot two of them after one attacked a farmer standing beside his pick up. SOOOO creepy.

    Love ya!

  3. dreamingwideawake says:

    I bought all the oils for less than 15 bucks. if you want the directions i can pass them on. We went to victorian xmas tonight, I wish you would come one time! The music is amazing, and so is the food. I think I gained 20 lbs….

Leave a Reply

