Red and Aqua Quilt Update #3

This quilt needs a name. I am already tired of typing “red and aqua” lol.

Tonight was even better than last night as far as quilting goes. I came up with a new (for me, not for anyone else, lol) method of putting these blocks together: chain piecing. Instead of just one or even two blocks, tonight I was able to complete a whopping six whole blocks! The chain piecing was awesome and cut the work in half, seriously. I chain pieced the small squares together, two at a time, then went back and added one more square to each pair. When that was done, I sewed three strips of three sewn squares to each other, to come up with one nine patch block. Then I cut each block in half length wise and again across the width and used the chain piecing method to sew them all back together in random order.

It sounds confusing, but that’s for two reasons. One is that you’re not able to see what I’m talking about, since I don’t have pictures of the process, and two, I can’t explain things or give good directions to save my hide. If there’s any interest I can take a video of how I do this. I may do that anyway, since video would be better than these horrid pictures I keep ending up with…speaking of which, it is now time to reveal tonight’s pictures.

Six new blocks

Horrible lighting, not so great layout, but wonderful blocks!

There’s another shot in the gallery down below. (WordPress and I are having a fight right now. It’s winning. So you have to use the link, sorry about that.)

Anyway, that’s the news on the quilt front!

PS – the pan full of cake scraps on the table is NOT my dinner, I promise. It’s gonna feed the birds in the yard in the morning. Yes, I’m still working on the wedding cake…lol.

Off to finish wedding stuff, I’ll be back later. šŸ˜‰

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

6 Responses to Red and Aqua Quilt Update #3

  1. Dreamingwideawake says:

    OMg, I was logged in on Arjuna’s wordpress and I commented…LOL. That would have been the shock of your life. Luckily I could delete it. Note to self, don’t wordpress from someone elses computer.

    Anyhow, I love the quilt. Glad you like our little projects too. I could make one for Gracie! I think we have enough stuff.

    BTW, please read this and share it with all your friends and family. I opened my Twitter just to get the word out on this one:

    http://www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/were-flu-vaccines-intentionally-contaminated-with-avian-flu/

    Luv ya!

  2. messymama says:

    Sounds great babe!

  3. dreamingwideawake says:

    PS: the ladybugs are my favorite piece in there!!!

  4. messymama says:

    Mine too! They started the whole thing, I bought the fabric for a baby quilt and then FELL IN LOVE with it and couldn’t bear to give it up, lol. Selfishness won out and now I’m way happy!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Hey, I love your red and aqua blocks and I have really enjoyed reading through your blog today. We have a lot in common; thank you for what you share so honestly!

    Jennifer šŸ™‚

  6. messymama says:

    I love new readers who comment! Thank you for your compliments. I am having so much fun with the red and aqua quilt, it’s my most favorite project to date. I’m glad someone else likes it as much as me and my friends!

Leave a Reply

