Red and Aqua Quilt Update #2, Wedding Update #1

It’s been such a rewarding day! First, the quilt news…

I finished not one, but two whole blocks tonight. I even fixed my sewing machine all by myself when it decided to throw a tantrum. I’m so proud! If you were just going on the pictures alone, they don’t look so hot. I PROMISE I will take them outside tomorrow and take some shots that do them justice. I’ll also see about researching how to take better indoor pictures, because these really are terrible.

The other photos are a little better. They are slightly more important too.

My littlest sister is getting married (sniff* sniff*) this weekend at my dad’s. I’m the unpaid planner, decorator, photographer, wedding cake artist and also, hair stylist. Luckily she’s got fabulous hair and I have great taste, so everything should be fine. Tonight we did a practice run through on her hair. She fell in love with it and I took a bunch of pictures to commemorate the occasion. We were missing a whole bunch of things we need to get a real updo, such as a small curling iron and bobby pins, but the main thing we were doing was making sure we could make it work. And we can. Again, this is not the finished project, so judge nicely…or not at all, you could just enjoy! lol

Well I am tired so I’m just going to post the gallery and let you click through. Later gators.

PS – I hate how these pictures look, I will edit this post soon and make it look better, promise.

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

5 Responses to Red and Aqua Quilt Update #2, Wedding Update #1

  1. Sheasa says:

    She is totally gorgeous!!!!!! We love you, Katie. I remember when she was only 4 years old and we would try to keep her out of your room. Now look at her!

    Your quilt is to die for. You inspired me so much!!! Since Lane’s mom and dad are going out of state for the holidays, we are bustingour hump sewing for all the grandkids. Today we made Olivia an apron with 3 gingerbread dolls that go inside, each with a bite taken off a part of it. Then there are little pockets they fit into. We handsewed the whole thing, so it took about 3 hrs to finish the project, not bad. How long does each of these quilts take you? You are so patient! I also bought decorative paper with gingerbread men and grandpa (who has gorgeous writing) is writing the gingerbread poem on it to frame, to go along with the apron and dolls. I told Pat we could make bank doing this kind of stuff. We should have a craft day with the three of us, you would like her a lot.

    I miss you so much! Is the weather nice there? We have clouds, but it’s warm today.

    xoxoxoxo POST MORE PICS!!!!

  2. messymama says:

    It’s beautiful here.

    Olivia’s apron sounds amazing, what a great idea!

    Each block so far has taken about thirty minutes, and I need about fifty of them, plus sashing and borders and then the actual quilting…this one alone will take probably at least a month.

    Normally, I get them done a lot faster, but this is a more intricate pattern than what I normally do, and between the wedding stuff and school work and sleeping and eating (lol) it’s going slower. But that’s why I’m posting updates, so I can stay motivated.

    It’s not really about patience; it’s actually the exact opposite, lol. I want to see the end result so bad that I can’t stop working on it! And with that being said, I’m off to start another block.

    PS – Where’s that email woman?

  3. dreamingwideawake says:

    Well, you’ve motivated me for sure!

    OK, e-mail coming!!! I was at moms ALL day finishing this stuff with her. Here it is, several weeks before x-mas, and we have most the gifts done for the kids. I decided to do that little quilt idea on sewmamasew! We did one for Olivia and one for Lavender. Then we did an apron for each out of the same material, but with different figures to go inside. Now we have to do the boys stuff. I told her I thought a “holster” would be cute for them, but instead of guns, little monsters with googly eyes.

    Does you blog allow pics? Here is one. If not, then I will put these up on my sunrock blog tonight so you can see.

    BTW, when is the wedding again? I want to be sure to check back for more pics!!

    xoxoxoxo

  4. messymama says:

    The wedding is Sunday afternoon.

    I can’t see any pics but I would love to! I’ll check your blog when I’m done here. I think the holsters are a great idea, I may have to steal that for Eli! I want to see the quilts and apron too!

  5. Sheasa says:

    Oh, I love weddings. Tell her we adore her and give her our best. What kind of dress is she going to wear?

    Yup, I posted the blog, so have at it. I will post pics of the boys stuff when we get it started, probably not until next week, as burned out as I am now. You are a good woman, doing this nearly every day!!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

