Just a teaser

Thought I’d show you guys what’s inspired me to start on my newest quilt. But first, just a random little side story: I’ve never once made anything that’s just been, from start to finish, for me. Or, for my husband, for that matter. I’ve started a project (a green patchwork quilt) that was supposed to be for our room, but since then I changed decorating directions and gone with blues and teals over greens, so it’s a lost cause. The point is, this is the first thing I’ve ever made just for me. And it didn’t start out being for me. I bought the fabric for a quick flannel baby blanket (a post on those coming soon) and when I got it home and put it up on my work in progress shelf, I just couldn’t keep my eyes off it. I woke up dreaming about the quilt I could make myself out of it. And that’s when it was decided, it would be mine.

On to the teasing…

First, a gorgeous in process shot of an awesome inspirational piece:
Hooked on needles quilt

Second, showing what white can bring to the board:
Polka Dot Quilts

Third, just because it’s great:
The Calico Cat

And lastly, the inspiration behind the pattern I think I’m going to use to arrange the quilt blocks in:
Disappearing Nine Patch from Sew -Fantasic.blogspot.com

I love the idea of using the Disappearing Nine Patch because the reality is that so far, I only have one red fabric picked out. However, I have tons of red scraps that can be used in 4×4 squares, and by using the Nine Patch method, it won’t be as obvious that very few of the patterns are repeated. Probably considered cheating, I realize, but I am desperately trying to use up what’s in my fabric stash. I no longer have a sewing room (sniff*sniff) and so my crafting bins just float from room to room. It’s driving me crazy and I am determined to cut back on the amount of fabric I am storing, by using it all.

The other reason I like this pattern is that I’m tired of doing random patchwork quilt tops, and the stacked coin quilt top I did is ugly and I detest it. So I needed a new method. This one seems just eclectic enough to suit me and not so rigid that I will be setting myself up for failure by trying it, lol.

Okay, enough rambling. I just want to add that I’ve already cut out over 150 squares for this project and am super excited!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

4 Responses to Just a teaser

  1. dreamingwideawake says:

    I want one!!!! They are gorgeous! We were up your way today in Marysville, but doing boring things like getting our tires done at Walmart. But while I was there I picked up loads of craft making stuff. You are so lucky to have shops like that close. Here we have Ben Franklins, the nordstrom’s of crafts, $20 bucks a yard for fabric. I picked up so many cute remnents from their remnant baskets. I am helping my mother in law make all kinds of gifts, best of all these three eyed dolls. They are like the Ugly dolls you see in the store, only handmade and totally unique.

    Thanks for posting these!!!! PS; I will send you that novel chapter, I just have a bit of tweaking to do and Lane keeps telling me I am a disgusting perfectionist but I’m not, I just have a lot of three legged characters. LOL.

  2. messymama says:

    I CAN NOT believe you! I was in WalMart , the one here in Linda AND the one in Yuba City today. I was in the biggest craft store in our area too, Micheal’s, over by the YC Walmart. You shoulda called and we coulda hung out for a bit at the store or something! Next time you are down here, please call me, I will make time to come hug you at least.

    I am so excited about this quilt and cant wait to work on it more. With all this wedding stuff coming up (as in, in 7 short days, lol) I am going to be running around like a chicken without a head. I want to finish cutting out my squares so that when I have a few minutes I can pick some up and hand sew them.

    Tonight I made my first wedding cake. It was only a semi-disaster. But it tastes like heaven and I now have a method that is fool proof, so I’m totally stoked.

    I keep checking my emails waiting for your pages but guess what…my inbox is empty still…so quit being a perfectionist and send it to me! You know I’m gonna pick it apart anyway, perfection is unnecessary. πŸ˜‰

    I love and miss you!!

  3. dreamingwideawake says:

    LOL, ok ok. I also gave you a link to our apple hill photos in one of these posts, check it out. I LOVE making cakes. Did you see the one I made for Lavender’s b-day? If I could grow up all over again, this time I would want to be a cake maker!!! πŸ˜€

    xoxo

  4. Pingback: Red and Aqua Quilt #1 « Messymama's Weblog

Leave a Reply

