Something that helps me

Something that helps me deal with anxiety is crocheting. In the last two days I’ve made three dish clothes and learned two new stitches. (There would be pictures if I wasn’t tired tonight. Maybe I’ll edit this and add them over the next few days.) I’ve found that repitive motions, like using a crochet hook and yarn over and over, really relaxes my head and helps me sort things out. It seems to bring an inner calm.

What works for you when you are stressed?

Oh, and a quick PS – a LOT of people recommend working out to deal with things. I fully intend to implement that technique in the future. Right now, anything I do that raises my heart rate too much has been really scaring me, triggering the I’m having a heart attack train and effectively destroying any benefits from the work out itself. I have been doing yoga poses and slowly working my way back up to a full work out over the last week.

So comment and tell me what helps you so we can all try it!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

2 Responses to Something that helps me

  1. Sheasa says:

    I find writing helps. Cleaning the house like a mad woman helps. Xantax helps, as does Adavan. Sometimes I just go for the pill, sometimes I go dancing, but it never works the same more than once, you know?

  2. messymama says:

    Yeah, that’s a good point, it really is never the same.

    The one consistent thing with me is I refuse to take the anti-anxiety meds, other than that things can be really different even from day to day.

    Thanks for writing back, I miss you!!

Leave a Reply

