Significance Journaling For Anxiety

In my quest to have a fulfilling life, I usually find myself crafting in one way or another. I sew, I quilt, I write, I make things. A project that’s been hovering around the edges of my brain lately is making a recycled journal to write in daily. I was thinking about using a lot of unlined paper and a lot of white space to make the journal; I’ve found that it’s easier for me to take notes on totally blank paper then it is to use lined paper (I’m not sure why, this is just a personal preference. I’m not trying to dog lined paper by any means, lol.) It seems more freeing and less restrictive, and I like to doodle all over so it looks a little better without those blue lines behind everything.

Anyway, I was on youtube this morning looking at different ways to make journals, different book binding techniques, etc. I came across this video about Significance Journaling that really sparked my interest. It’s something I’ve never heard of before, but it instantly made sense.

The gist of it is that every day, you write down something significant that you accomplished during that day. It doesn’t have to be a world changing event. But it’s also not just a regular diary entry where you gripe about how much work you had to do and how the day made you feel. It’s just a simple list of important things that you did that day that you want to remember.

How does this tie in with anxiety?

All too often, those of us who suffer with anxiety beat ourselves up one side and down the other about all the ways we’ve failed in the past, are failing right now, and will fail in the future. We are never good enough for ourselves. Nothing we do is valuable, because we are so busy worrying about what we used to do wrong, are doing wrong, or may do wrong in the future, that our present moment loses any value that it deserves.

Forcing yourself to step back and look at your day from an outsider’s point of view and search for the important task(s) you accomplished will change your point of view about yourself.

It’s another twist on the whole idea of talking positively to yourself and being your own best friend. And when you take the time to sit and think about it, then write it out, then reread it later, you are being kind and loving to yourself.

In my journal (which I will be making today at some point if all goes as plans) I intend to have a Significant Accomplishment section, a Gratitude section and a diary section. I think it will help me to be more organized with my thoughts and more aware of what I’m feeling, which can only make life better, right?

Here’s an example of what my entry for today will look like:

Gratitude Journal – I am so grateful for the sunshine outside my window! After a week of rain, it is refreshing to see the blue sky and hear the birds. My garden has even begun to grow again, so I am grateful for the fresh rain as well. Also, I am grateful that my sisters trust me with their babies. Baby laughs are contagious. They make me smile.

Significance Journal – Today I hugged my daughter and told her I loved her when she crawled out of bed. This is significant to me because it never happened during my childhood. I am being the kind of mom I want to be.

So, what about you? What are you grateful for today? What Significant things did you accomplish today?

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

12 Responses to Significance Journaling For Anxiety

  1. srkenney says:

    Ah, so sweet! I often am jealous of my kids because of the love and attention they are getting from us that I never had. Did you see the 3 layer cake we made Lav? It is on my AOSF blog. So much going on, we should catch up. I have some interesting news,,,,

    Anyhow, good to see you back on facebook. That is my significance journal moment for the day! xo

  2. messymama says:

    Interesting news may just drag me out of my hole with curiosity…lol. Love you and miss you tons!!!!

  3. Sheasa says:

    well, I just e-mailed you about my big news. You are going to freak out on me….LOL. Just keep it on the down low for now, OK?

    My significance journal for today: scared away a mountain lion all by myself! Took my kids to the Empire mine and collected bags of chestnuts. Laughed so much my side began to hurt.

    xoxo

  4. messymama says:

    WHAT?????????? A mountain lion? Omg, they are so beautiful but so scary. When I was living in Rakerby we had a momma and her cubs in our driveway one morning. Scared me to death when I came out the door! Congrats to you, Superwoman!

    I haven’t been to the mine since I was a kid. It was on our summer plans but I got too sick to do much of anything. I am so glad you guys went and had a great time!

    My significance journal for today: I did dishes, vacuumed, reorganized a bunch of my craft room stuff, three loads of laundry, swept the floor, kissed ALL the kids at least once, got to hug my mother and father at the same time…and didn’t die during any of it…lol. Oh yeah, I also spent 3 hours in WalMart and didn’t have anything more than a few chest pains, it was quite the accomplishment.

    What is the plan for the chestnuts? Do you guys eat ’em?

  5. Sheasa says:

    Hey, got your e-mail earlier in the day, then never wrote back cause we had el major drama at the house. We were up until 2am last night, lane nearly shot a bear with his double barrel shot gun, it was trying to stand on our car. This AFTER the mountain lion came back and killed 2 of our chickens. Then there was more but you dont want to hear it…LOL!

    Yes, you made it out of Walmart without dying, BUT the real challenge is getting out of Walmart without spending over $300 bucks. We can’t do it. Last time was OK because we bought 4 all weather tires, but other than that there is no excuse.

    I agree about Cognitive Behavioral Therapy. I respond really well to that, especially with the PTSD. I never thought my pregnancies were the cause of my anxiety, now I realize they are. That is why this will be so interesting. I can feel the sink or swim thing coming on for me. Where is your anxiety forum, can you private e-mail it to me? I would like to join, especially now.

    How is my Gracie? We just have to get her and Dublin together!!! I miss you guys! Crap, I have muffins in the oven burning! gotta go! xoxoxo

  6. Sheasa says:

    Significance journal for today: my baby lost his teeth! I posted a blog on AOSF. It is so damn cute! I’m sure Gracie went through this already. I am semi-elated, but devastated too! They are growing up, which means we are getting old! LOL

    Go check it out.

    xoxo

  7. messymama says:

    I saw it on Facebook but haven’t watched it yet, my ‘net is being stupid and glitchy, ugh.

    Significance Journal for the day: Deep cleaned and reorganized the bathroom and pantry, got started on our Winter Exchange gifts, went grocery shopping, went thrift store shopping, crocheted a scarf, spent time with my family and my mother in law, watched an entire movie without getting up once (!), and ate lunch, dinner and two snacks. (Breakfast is still a goal to work towards, lol). It was a busy day!

    Although not as busy as bears dancing on my cars and mountain lions being stubborn and the chickens laying pretty eggs!

    I still haven’t sent you that email but I will tomorrow I hope. Miss ya gorgeous!

  8. Sheasa says:

    Hi Love, I posted pics of Bishop trip on our site. It was amazing, I have never seen such a beautiful place. I also wanted to see if there are any very nice rentals out where you all are? We need a large farm house, or house with fenced yard like yours. 3 bedrooms at least. I am SOOO tired of paying rent ot my aunt to live with all this junk, and when we look at othe rhomes in the vicinity we would have to pay $1600 a month for a 2 bedroom 600 sq ft house, no good.

    Love ya babe!

  9. dreamingwideawake says:

    We miss you! I promise to come down soon! xoxo

  10. messymama says:

    I WANT you guys to live down here! I will keep an ear out. Check out Appealdemocrat.com in the classifieds for rentals. Also look on yuba-sutter craigslist.

    I am going back to Bishops within the next few days, was planning on going tonight but stuff came up as always :/ I will think of you guys while we’re there!

  11. messymama says:

    Just found this:
    1000+ Sq Ft. 3 bedroom, 1 bathroom home for rent w/ a fenced yard. Garbage service included. Pet possible – subject to approval and additional deposit will be required. Section 8 tenants welcome. Contact Valley Fair Realty @ (530)673-3916 for additional information or visit our website at http://www.vfrcorp.com.

  12. Pingback: Please Don’t Confront Me With My Failures « Twisting & Transisting

Leave a Reply

