Gratitude Journal #1

This is an exercise in being grateful. You’re supposed to do it every day. I highly doubt I will be organized or dedicated enough to do it every day, but here’s hoping, right? lol. Anyway, the goal is to write three things you’re grateful for and why you’re grateful for them.

Enough dawdling…let’s begin, shall we?

#1) I am grateful that my mother in law came through her emergency surgery last night. Yes, she might look really beat up and recovery seems miles away right now, but the important thing is that she’s still around to look like anything and recover at all. And the bright side of this is that maybe now she will be able to recover fully from the lung operation in June and get back to feeling good and enjoying life.

#2) I am grateful for my husband’s hugs and his warm smile and his voice. In fact, I’m grateful for every minute I get to spend with him. He is gone a lot and his job is dangerous. Sometimes I forget how much he means to me, especially when I get caught up in all the negative parts of daily life. But he really does give the best bear hugs ever. I am very grateful for him.

#3) I am grateful for…I could go with the obvious and say my daughter. But the truth is that I’m not grateful for just my daughter in general. I am grateful to see her little heart is so full of love and hope. I am grateful to watch her little brain literally expanding with knowledge, and to see her growing up and becoming her own person. She is my greatest accomplishment ever!

Okay, this was mushy gushy but fun to write and it made my heart feel a lot lighter tonight. Maybe this isn’t such a bad idea!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

2 Responses to Gratitude Journal #1

  1. dreamingwideawake says:

    miss you. xo

  2. dreamingwideawake says:

    HI Babe, I was thinking about you today and hoping you are all good! Drop me a line and let me know. I am posting some new pics tonight on our family site, it was Lavenders b-day party and we had it at Lanes mom and Dads new house, which was a break for my constant anxiety about messes and junk laying around after everyone has left! I would like to see you guys soon. My brother, Lane and I are planning a huge family vacation, and I was thinking you should come too! You would love him, and Gracie is the same age as my niece Amanda, who is so sweet and mild. We were thinking Disney world 2010 or Hawaii, if you haven’t been. It would give us time to save, and couldnt you see all of us having a blast?

    Let me know how you are doing, and how Frankies mom is!

    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

