Life in a small town

I was saving my 100th post for something important and interesting. Instead, I had a weird couple of days and decided to blog about them.

Yesterday I almost got hit twice. Not by the same car, either, and not even in the same town, that was the stupid part. People EVERYWHERE drive like idiots, I just forget that sometimes, lol.

Today I loaded up the kids and went to Wal-Mart to meet my sisters to drop off the baby and hang out. My sisters and I split up for a minute and DD and I walked away – came around a corner and almost smacked into someone I haven’t seen in days. That was a kinda awkward moment, ’cause my head was a million miles away and I just kinda went blank and kept walking after a second. After I found my sisters again, we were headed to the checkout stand when I heard someone yelling my name; I was almost afraid to turn around and find out who it was, but it turned out to be a long lost friend and her kids, plus her sister’s kids. We were standing there visiting when her sister walked around the corner. Normally, I am never rude to anyone, and would never purposely ignore anyone…except the girl who walked right up to me. The funny thing is that she knows I want nothing to do with her and refuse to speak to her, yet she still put herself in that situation. I didn’t even look at her. I hugged her kids and her sister and walked away. It was really hard for me to do, considering this girl was my closest and best friend just a few years ago, but sometimes you have to cut ties when the time comes for that, and this was for sure one of those times.

But then I came home and checked my facebook account and found out that someone I knew in 8th grade wanted to be friends. I was surprised, to say the least, considering we never really liked each other, and when I started looking around his friends list it was like opening a year book that I never wanted to own, lol.

Sometimes, most of the time, I love living in this area. I’ve always lived within the same 40 mile area, except when I was 18 and lost my mind and left the state for 6 weeks; after that mistake I realized how much I like where I live and never want to move away again. But after today, and all the run-ins with the past, I am kinda dreaming about living in a big city and disappearing…not that I ever would but sometimes I can’t blame the ones I know who do!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

