I’m back!

After a week of no phone and no internet, it feels really great to click on the Firefox logo and have my browser open perfectly every single time. It’s even faster than it was before, due to this awesome tutorial. My page load times are so much faster, it’s seriously amazing.

I still have no new project pictures to put up because I have been too disgusted with the whole no internet thing to care about uploading pics. That’s a rotten attitude, I know…so I’ll try to get to it tomorrow.

We have been really busy around here. The marble magnets are a thing of the past; now we have moved on to making magnetic bookmarks. I would include a link here, but we’ve been making our own up as we go along, so there’s no link to include. I will try try TRY to get pics tomorrow.

We have also been making lapbooks and mini offices. As far as I can tell, there’s not a difference between the two, but maybe I’m missing something. We have one for Math and one for Language Arts. They are both based on next year’s curriculum so we haven’t used them much yet, but they are a fun project, and I’m seriously hoping it will cut down on the “Mommy how do you” questions!

The garden is exploding with green tomatoes, crazy amounts of zucchini, and beets that are bigger than my fist and really sweet. We are having a great time checking out how fast things can ripen and how fast seeds become plants (little does she know she’s actually doing science! lol). We are, in fact, getting swamped with zucchini, and there’s only so much fried zucchini one family can stand, so it was time to look for new recipes. Tonight I tried Paula Deen’s Zucchini Lasagna and it was delicious! My one complaint was that the final layer of cheese burned to a blackened crisp and for one split second I was sure I’d ruined an hour’s worth of work. Turns out that the cheese was easy to remove as one big hunky layer, so it didn’t ruin anything. If I make it in the future I’ll just omit that last layer of cheese, because frankly, it may have been too much cheese. I know, I know, there’s really no such thing…but in this case there’s the possibility that there was.

I’m really tired and grouchy so I’m going to shut up now. And maybe upload those pictures…although making another book mark sounds like a lot more fun…hmm.

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

3 Responses to I’m back!

  1. srkenney says:

    I really miss ya, girl! Lane’s mom and dad are watching the house for us while we are away, so they get the harvest of all our crops. Damn, I had to schedule a vacation right when everything was ripe. Well, they have freakin’ tornados here! Tonight there is a tornado watch, so I am doing cardio and watching tv, which just HAPPENS to be in the basement. I miss California, bankrupt or not, at least we dont have freak air tunnels that move at 150 mph and suck up houses like dust bunnies. On an interesting note, I found Chris West….very bizarre, nightmarish really. Hmm…anything else new???? Lane gets to meet Lance Armstrong on Father’s day, I guess that could be pretty exciting. Well, let me know what is going on! xoxo!!! Oh, I got my doll site all up, so you can link it to your site, and take down the old one. The new one is http://www.ababyaday.wordpress.com

    Luv ya!!!

  2. messymama says:

    Where did you meet Chris? How nightmarish?

    I hate tornadoes, that is the number one reason I have no desire to travel the US. I’ll stick to my earthquakes, thank you very much!

    That’s awesome about Lane and Lance!

  3. srkenney says:

    I saw your Yahoo status…what is going on??? What is tomorrow???xoxox

Leave a Reply

