Marble Magnets and Thunderstorms!

So last night, I was so happy to be going to bed at 9:00, that was an amazing feat for me, and honestly it took all day to prepare for. I had to make sure baths were done with, dinner was early, laundry was taken care of, and basically crammed my normal evening routine from four hours to about one and a half to compensate for the early bed time I’m determined to make happen every night. And then, at just after 9, the first huge lightening strikes lit up the area in the yard so brightly that I thought the power lines had smacked together and sparked, it was so bright. The lightening was soundless and dry as tinder for the first hour and it was incredible. Here’s a link in the hometown newspaper with some great pictures of the light show. There were several air-to-ground strikes that were clearly visible from my huge front window. Since this is Northern California, not Colorado or somewhere known for their beautiful storms, it was pretty freaky. We never lost power but both my father, who lives about thirty miles up the mountain and my good friend who lives in Nevada City both did, so I’m counting my blessings that we didn’t. Apparently the rains were a lot heavier up there too. And even just across town, over by my old house, there was amazing weather we didn’t get here – quarter size chunks of hail that thrashed my friend’s yard and garden and bounced off my sister’s roof.

I thought the storm was passing over so I fell asleep at 10:30 or so. I had no idea that the storm was really just taking a break. At 1:20 I was woken up by my entire house shuddering and shaking under the loudest, longest thunder I’ve ever heard. It was terrifying, if you want the truth. About three years ago a thunderstorm would have sent me into complete Anxiety Girl mode, full of panic attacks. I used to wrap up and lay on the living floor between the couch and sofa and cry the whole time it stormed, I was so scared. So I’m much better than I used to be, but I’m still not comfortable with uncontrollable loud noises, to put it mildly! But I survived. Now I’m a little anxious waiting for the next storm to roll in, but I can handle it.

But I didn’t get to sleep early.

Tonight a good friend came over and brought dinner for us and my hubby worked on her brakes. It was a good trade. She stayed until ten, so I didn’t go to bed early, and when she left I was really keyed up so we decided to do a quick craft that’s been on my to-do list for the last three months – we made marble magnets. I didn’t take pictures or anything (that would be too organized) and I realize this is an old craft that’s already seen it’s heyday, but I really had fun doing it with DD and it was relaxing. However…it’s now almost midnight and I haven’t even started getting ready for bed, lol.

9:00, I will reach you one day with snores and peaceful dreams, I promise!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

2 Responses to Marble Magnets and Thunderstorms!

  1. srkenney says:

    Wowww! I just saw this post. I ama amazed that you weren’t up all night. It seriously didn’t stop until 1am. We were scared witless and just when Dubs opened the front door a lightening bolt hit our front yard and the sound made us all fall ont he ground (like in the Bible!) and we closed the door and cried. Our power was out for three freakin’ days and Mekka almost burned down. Well, we had enough of that and we are in LA now, sitting on the ocan listening to the waves. Tomorrow I am going to MN for a powow. Miss you guys!! Miss our Saturday morning meetings! The week after next we will be home! Water balloons????

    xoxo

  2. srkenney says:

    OMG, I just looked at my typing im my post and it is atrocious. Well, blame it on 3 glasses of wine. LOL. xoxo

Leave a Reply

