Eli!

To my nephew Eli~

So, two weeks ago, on a Wednesday, you decided you could crawl. Your dad was still here as he was dropping you off on his way to work, so we both saw you get up on all fours and take off like a little mad baldish man. I didn’t cry or anything even though I was so proud of you!

Then this morning, you crawled over to the entertainment center and pulled a booklet to the Wii off to chew on it. I was busy and didn’t notice what you’d done for a few seconds. When I took it away from you, you opened your mouth and yelled at me, and with such a good close up view I was able to see all the tiny white bits of paper stuck to your gums. But when I tried to swipe them off, I got a huge surprise – they weren’t two little pieces of paper, they were two little sharp teeth!! I have to tell the truth here…I did tear up when I realized they were teeth. Only big boys have chompers, and now you’re a big boy! I had to go wake up your cousin and let her see them too. She stumbled out here with crazy bed head and cried a little too when she saw them.

But your day of adventures in growing up wasn’t over yet. At 12:30, mere hours after the tooth discovery, you blew me away again. You were hungry and wanted your bottle. We’d just taken a nap and you were still snuggled up to me on the couch when you woke up hungry and I woke up needing to pee. Cousin made you a bottle and I fed you for as long as I could, but after a few minutes it became an emergency situation so I laid you next to Cousin so I could run to the bathroom and she could feed you. But, when I started to hand her the bottle, you ripped it away and stuck it in your mouth all on your own! It was the first time you’ve held your bottle for more than a few seconds on your own. And you actually drank the whole thing and then flipped over, crawled a few feet and burped yourself.

You are growing so fast, Mr. 7 Month Old. I appreciate being a part of your life and getting to see you every day. Even though you are technically your mommy and daddy’s baby, you are untechnically mine too…and I couldn’t be happier about that. Thank you for being such a gorgeous little guy and such a joy to be around.

As soon as you give me a few minutes of peace I’ll find my camera and insert the obligatory close ups of your teeth and crawling skills here. Until then, I love you Son Son…and remember, hold the #2 until your mommy gets home!

~Aunt NeNe

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

