Just a quickie…

Wanted to pop in and say, great things are in the works! I currently have the fastest pieced quilt EVER all over my kitchen table and living room floor. It’s a king sized stacked coin pattern in greens, blues and whites. I have no pics as it’s too late to take any good ones and it didn’t occur to me earlier, of course. But with the week off (yay, first time off since February, no wonder I haven’t been sewing!) I decided to redo my (our) bedroom. Of course we needed a new quilt, since I’ve never made anything for DH and I at all, all of my quilts have been baby or just because gifts. There’s enough scraps left over to do matching pillowcases and a wall hanging as well, since there’s a painting done right on our bedroom wall that the landlord doesn’t want painted over…I’m not a huge fan of Tinkerbell so it has to be covered. I’m really excited to see everything put together and to get some pictures. Tomorrow, I hope.

On a personal note, lately I’ve been able to see my good friends who live far away every weekend. It’s been so fun. I love company almost as much as I love sewing, which is saying a LOT.

On another note, my house is thrashed for the first time since we moved in and even though it’s driving me nuts, it also feels more like home than ever before. It’s not filthy by any means and the kitchen and bathrooms are spotless. Still, it’s pleasantly messy, which is a total switch for me. I am enjoying it. Without a cuddly baby rolling around and crawling all over everything, I find I don’t have to pick up quite as often, lol.

Anyway, it’s after midnight and I’m determined to make a little more progress on this quilt before I go to sleep, so I’m off for now. More details coming soon!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

4 Responses to Just a quickie…

  1. srkenney says:

    Hey! The kids and I LOVE to visit you. I am still laughing over the 3 point boob shot dublin gave you with the water balloon! LOL…. Well, I look forward to seeing you again on Sat! Congrats on the quilt. I am busting butt on my dolls, wish I had more time. Now, we are traveling to Minnesota for 10 days, and end of June beginning of July lane is going to Austin for a week or two which means total kid chaos for me. Blah…. For now, I am going to focus on these beautiful spring days and every second I get alone to write!

    love ya!

  2. messymama says:

    The water balloons were the highlight of the day, for sure…lol.

    Congrats on your dolls!

    Bummer about all that time without Lane! lol.

    Congrats too on the writing, I still haven’t recovered my mojo and am beginning to doubt I ever will, honestly…there’s not enough time to do everything I want/need/have to do, you know?

    Anyway, see ya Saturday, enjoy that beautiful family and the gorgeous weather!

  3. srkenney says:

    HEYA! Now that we have no myspace, I can’t leave you a comment anywhere anymore! Thank you SO MUCH for the tree help. Now my garden gets ten times more light! I am pretty sure we are going to build the house right there where the garden is, which will SUCK because I put so damn much time into that thing. But, with all the rocks on the property (They would cost thousands to remove) I think it will be best. We will have to have Frankie come out and cut all the trees down…LOL. I need to talk to my aunt about removing the dead one. That was a really decent price he asked, so I’m sure she will do it…and besides, another excuse to see you. xo

  4. messymama says:

    lol…I for sure won’t mind another trip up there! I hear you about the rocks. In Loma Rica we had to dig out humungous rocks just to put in my garden…I’m talking rocks that were bigger than Frankie and I together, lol. We had to use the backhoe to get the majority of them out. And the rocks you guys grow up there are waaaayy bigger than ours were, that would be a nightmare.

    Your garden will be sad to be moved but you can always replant into containers or something. Or just start all over, that’s part of the fun of gardening, right? lol…

    We are so close to being done with schoolwork for the year, I can NOT wait for summer vacation but what stinks is she’s actually going to continue through the summer in most of her classes. No rest for the weary, I guess…

    Well see you soon!! We had a great time and your house is adorable. Can’t wait to come back!

Leave a Reply

