Ah, the joys of spring…

So, here in Northern California, spring is slowly seeping across the countryside. It gets knocked out of the way occasionally by freezes and blustery black rainstorms, but for the most part, the 78′ weather is decidedly springy. Which means my allergies are already kicking into high gear. Tonight the left side of my face feels like the Sahara desert and I’m back to having morning bloody noses…sigh. I was so tired of winter, and now I’m so tired of pain. What can you do? Not much, so I think I’ll…plant flowers.

Yep, you read that right, it’s time for the gardening madness to begin. We have a flower bed planned and room for as many garden plots as one three person family can manage, so we’re so thrilled. This is the first spring we’ll be planting in a new yard so it will be interested to compare the differences from the old house to the new one.

We got fishies today! Charlie, Tuna and Starkist live in the living room and cost a whopping $2…in all. I spent more on the tank and pump and decorations than on any of the fish, but they are fun to watch and I find the sound of the tank incredibly relaxing and appealing, which was the main reason behind the purchase.

I finally, finally, finally bought a card reader so soon I’ll be posting pictures of my projects! I’m so excited to be able to get pictures off my camera again. I still wonder what in the world happened to the first reader that I lost during the move…I’m assuming that now that I’ve replaced it, it will come out of hiding with its tail between its legs, but I couldn’t go another day with access to my pictures!

Oh, yeah…speaking of projects, I’m still at odds with my sewing machine. I lost it, found it, and now can’t use it. Somewhere along the line the bobbin tension got messed up and I’m no where near qualified to fix it, so I’m waiting for the chance to haul it up the hill to my expert mother in law and let her look at it for me. Since I haven’t been sewing, you might wonder what I’ve been doing…so I’ll tell you.

I’ve been making books. Honestly, I have. Bound ones, stapled ones, altered ones, blank ones, journal ones, lined ones…I’ve just been going kinda book crazy. It’s been lots of fun. I’ve also been making ocean dioramas (don’t ask, just picture tons of glue, sticky foam shapes and a huge argument about which direction a killer whale’s tail moves in, which of course I won) and stocking up on embroidery patterns and sewing supplies. Life is busy, life is full, life is…all in all, the bad is balanced well by the good, so life is satisfying. That’s more important than I can say.

I know I’m behind in posts. I still have the best and worst of 2008 to post and I have so many projects to photograph and put up. I’ll be more excited about blogging now that I can post pictures, and I can’t wait to get started.

Thanks for being patient with my during all of my irregular posts and boring updates. The fun stuff is about to come back, I promise you! Starting this week…so check back in regularly and leave me lots of emails and comments to look forward to!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

