I lost it during the move

My sewing machine, that is.

We’ve been here for two and a half weeks now. Last night I got DD’s room put together perfectly. It meant destroying the hard work I’d put into the kitchen, since I’m still waiting for my cabinets to be brought down and was using her dresser in lieu of actual kitchen furniture, but at least now we can find everything we need in her room. She’s not very happy about having to put her clothes away in their proper places, she’d much rather stick to the system of throwing clean clothes in the white laundry basket and dirty ones on the floor…but she’ll get over it, I’m sure. I hope, anyway. The muddled mix of clean and dirty tiny shirts and jeans on the floor between the baskets was leading to my mental breakdown so it had to be stopped.

The only room left now is the craft room. Which is doubling as our homeschool supply closet and tripling as the baby room for when I go back to work next week. (In case you don’t actually know me, my new job consists of cooing at my seven month old nephew all day long. It’s not really that bad of a gig at all…lol.) This room needs help in the worst way. There are boxes and bins stacked along one wall, a bookshelf overcrowded with story books along another, a tiny table shoved into the middle of the mess, and two playpens leaning against each other when you first come in. The only spot that’s put together at all in here is my computer table…which is actually my sewing table, but since DH hasn’t dragged my computer hutch out of the storage unit yet, I’m making do with what I have. It’s not so bad, but I have no idea where my sewing machine will go in the interim.

Which brings me back to the main focus of this post – I lost my sewing machine somewhere. I thought it was in the storage, but over the weekend, when I went to get it, I discovered it’s not there. I thought it was at my dad’s, where I’d been staying for two weeks, but after several frantic and panicked phone calls we discovered that unless it swallowed an invisible pill and is still in hiding, it’s not there either. It could possibly be at DH’s parent’s house, since he randomly stowed random items there during the move; if it is, I may never see it again. It could be anywhere, literally, on five acres of collections of everything from t-posts to fabric to seven sewing machines of his mother’s. I may never find it, honestly.

Which means, I guess, that I’ll be buying a new one…and my crafty room will be inspiration-less and order-less until then. The sewing machine is like the bed in a bedroom – it determines the placement of everything else around it, and it’s impossible to get the room right without it being there. I’m at a total standstill in here and too stressed to go shopping, so I guess it’ll have to wait…oh, moving, sweet moving, I do love you and your chaotic aftermath so so dearly…NOT!!

****I FOUND IT!!  Who’d have ever thought to look in the sewing machine case stuffed in the corner of the storage unit?  I knew I hadn’t put it there so it never occured to me…until I happened to kick the case in flip flops!  I’m so happy it’s here, now I feel like this is my house.  Can’t wait to get started creating again!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

