Best sentence of the day

We had a big family get together at my house tonight (what will happen to our family dinners when we move to a smaller place? hmmm…) Anyway, at one point my mother looked over at my husband’s work boots. She couldn’t see them clearly from where she was sitting or the entire conversation never would have happened, as it’s really really obvious that they aren’t women’s boots. In fact, they’re Wescos, which are commonly used for firemen, linemen and in our case, treetrimmers. All she could see was the tops of them – which are leather and knee-high. She looked at me and said, “Are those yours?”

Of course I couldn’t just give her a normal answer (“No, they’re the old man’s work boots). Instead I looked her straight in the eye and said, “Yeah, they are. I just got ’em so I could use them on the stripper pole in the bedroom. I like to hang upside down while I wear them. And I charge twice – once at the front door, and once before I break out the boots. Want a lesson?”

She just about died laughing. We all did, actually, mostly because two of my sisters were convinced I was telling the truth about the pole and wanted to learn how. Finally I got up and picked up one of the boots and held it up for my mom to see. “Do these look like stripper boots?” I asked her. She was laughing too hard to say yes or no so I walked over to the tall lamp next to her and bent it forward and hooked the boot upside down on the pole. “How’s that look to you?”

At that point, she started crying, she was laughing so hard. So the best sentence of the day is, in honor of this boot episode, “How’s that look to you?”

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

2 Responses to Best sentence of the day

  1. srkenney says:

    LOL. I love you, I miss you. I will call you, my damn home phone wont work. I can only RECIEVE calls, but not make them, I swear on my children’s lives! It is so f-ing weird, it just happened yesterday. The phone is awful out there. Check out the videos I just posted on my myspace page, you will die…they are better than our last ones that you loved. xoxo

  2. messymama says:

    I did see the videos, and I did die…of total and complete laughter. You guys are hilarious! That’s a beautiful picture of you on my comment, btw. I love you and miss you tons!!! Call me for sure when you get a chance!

Leave a Reply

