Random Update

I have lots on my mind, but I guess I’ll start with the crafty stuff first, since that’s what this blog’s supposed to be about, lol…

Yesterday I stopped by my uncle’s house and my aunt asked me if I wanted an antique quilt frame (which I do want but haven’t gotten yet) and some bags full of craft books (which we loaded in the car right away.) After giving my sister the ones I knew I wouldn’t use, I’m left with 16 books to add to my collection, and guess how many of them have toy patterns and stuffie information? TEN! One in particular, Soft and Cuddly Toys by Robin Tarnoff, has so much information in it. I can’t wait to sit down and read it all the way. The quick skimming I did this afternoon was enough to let me know that this book is going to be a favorite, since it describes everything you need to know from a beginner’s view point, and has tons of information on how to draft your own patterns, use gussets, hand stitches and diagrams…it’s just awesome. There’s a ton of rag doll patterns too, I think I spotted six or so spread out among the different books, and since I’ve been dying to learn how to make those, I couldn’t be happier.

The craft room has been relocated and redesigned. I know have a cutting table/scrapbooking station and a separate table for my sewing machines. For the last four months I’ve only had enough room to have one machine at a time out, so I’m excited to get all three of them up and running again. It makes life a lot easier to have each of them threaded with different colors and easily accessible. I plan on taking lots of pictures as soon as I get everything moved in, which hopefully will be tomorrow.

With the craft room moved, I now have an empty huge room that we’re going to use as a home gym. I have three machines in storage that could be used daily by my friends and family and of course me, and with the tv, stereo and work out videos in there, it should be pretty nice. The weights and resistance bands are already in there so I don’t have a ton of stuff left to move, so I should be done with that room by tomorrow or Saturday as well. It’ll be nice to go in there and shut (and lock!) the door and do whatever I want for an hour or two…if that ever happens.

My first official day back at work was yesterday. I don’t know what to think so far. It’s been great to see the babies and spend time with them, but the time chunk it’s taking out of my days is kind of strange; it’s from noon to four, and I’m used to having my mornings full and my afternoons empty, so it’s kinda stressful. But I think I like it. And now I have to have a set schedule, and have to be home by 11:30, so that’s a plus, my days run better when they have some structure.

G has school next week. Which means we have an entire three weeks worth of work to do in exactly seven days. I doubt we’ll make it, but we’re going to try. With everything that happened this month school got pushed to the back burner, and now I’m regretting that, since we are both sick…but that’s the price you pay to homeschool, I guess, and I know better then to not use my routines, so it’s my own fault.

My youngest sister just announced that she and her live-in boyfriend are officially engaged. Somehow I can’t picture either of them being married. I’m trying to be supportive but it reminds me so much of my first engagement that thankfully never ended in marriage. I know their lives are different than mine, though, so I’m trying to just smile and nod and stay quiet…we’ll see how long that lasts! lol.

And finally, the best news of this whole miserable week…I won fifty bucks to spend on fabric! TrueUp.net was having a giveaway and somehow, my number was drawn and I won one of the prizes. It’s for Phat Fabric, an online store that carries awesome stuff from some pretty well known designers – Amy Butler, Heather Bailey, etc. I wish I had the perfect project in mind, because I’m at a total loss as to which of the fabrics I want/will use/need. There’s some really hot half-naked Wrangler guys that just might find themselves spread out all over my bed…although I have to wonder what the dear hubby will have to say about that…hehehe.

Oh, yeah – we bought The Incredible Hulk last night. We’d already seen it at the movies so we knew it was worth every cent. Him, because he’s a die hard Marvel anything fan, me, because Edward Norton runs around shirtless a good part of the time, and even when he’s dressed he’s so freakin hot!! We had a nice family night watching it, and I so recommend it to anyone who’s wondering if it’s worth watching. It totally is.

And while we’re on the subject of things i really like and have been watching, two Dixie Chicks songs have been on my mind so often lately – You Were Mine and Without You. I’ve been watching the videos on Youtube and they are both so beautiful.

Okay, that’s enough randomness out of me tonight, I’m off to sew or sleep or something. :0)

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

