Let’s start over

Yesterday I mentioned about how I’ve been slipping in my routines. So I decided last night as I was trying to fall asleep (and stressing about how much I have to do, how much isn’t done, the damage I’ve done by not doing things right, etc) to start over with a clean slate. My routines were getting kind of out of control anyway, so this is as good a time as any to try again.

The way I have decided which things to put on my daily lists is by order of priority. Some things are so important that I have got to quit skipping them. These are the ones near the top. And since I’m trying to take small steps rather than huge leaps (that will inevitable lead to complete and utter burn out, as this last couple of months shows) there aren’t a whole lot of things on here.

*Read and study the Bible (this one’s pretty obvious – it’s the most important part of my day)
*Do at LEAST one load of dishes (to make dinner easier and to keep the kitchen mostly clean)
*School work with G for at LEAST two hours (this will keep us in line for the days when we need to spend lots of time on one project or subject, we won’t fall behind)
*Decide what to have for dinner and cook it. Hubby shouldn’t have to make dinner every night the way he’s been doing…I have to get this under control, I don’t need to be rushing around cleaning while he’s cooking.
*Hang out with my family. This doesn’t look like something that should be on my routine list, but it’s one of the most important things we need to do, and it gets shoved aside every time the house is a wreck. So it’s going here.
*Wash, fold and put away two loads of laundry until I’m caught up. It only takes about seven minutes to sort and fold and hang up the stuff in one huge load, so quit putting it off.
*Swish N Swipe the bathrooms (yes, I borrowed Flylady’s term, because it fits this chore so completely. For a peek at Flylady’s awesome site and to find out what a Swish N Swipe is, click here
*Spend fifteen minutes doing something – decluttering a room, taking care of the vaccuuming or clearing off the tables, putting away craft stuff, whatever. An extra fifteen minutes means a lot. If I spent fifteen minutes in each of the main rooms of my house (living room, crafty room, work out room, G’s room, my room, garage) that would only be 1 hr, 45 minutes every day. Within a week or so I’d only need to spend about six minutes in each tidying up…so really, it would save me time in the long run to set aside time now to get this stuff under control. I just need to quit procrastinating and DO IT. Flylady recommends saving stuff like this for a Home Blessing Hour once a week, but right now that’s not going to cut it. That’s my goal though.

As the days go by I’m sure I’ll need to tweak some of this stuff. But for now, this is enough (or more) and I need to get offline to go get started, so I’m off…

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

