Today blows

It’s been a rocky morning and as the day goes on things aren’t getting any easier. With D Day looming next Friday, it feels like the whole week isn’t going to get any better!

So, in the spirit of being stressed out, frustrated and depressed, I’m making another list. This one’s a list of things I can’t seem to do right now matter how hard I try (and no, it’s not a general list of all areas of life, ’cause that list would go on and on. It’s just about sewing and crafting. For today, anyway.) The purpose of said list? So that when I master these things I can go back and look at what a struggle it used to be and feel accomplished. That, and I’m just in a bad mood and this seems easier to think of than the things I’m actually good at. So here goes.

I cannot…
sew in a straight line to save my soul.

use binding tape on anything. In fact, I can’t even use it on my quilts successfully, so lately every blanket I’ve made has had a pillow case edge (that’s what I call it, anyway) and topstitching to finish it off. Maybe one day soon I’ll post a tutorial on that.

cut in an accurate or straight line either. Even when I use the ruler religiously. What is it with me and wonkiness? Is this a reflection of the chaos in my life or what? lol.

buy enough fabric. Okay, maybe this doesn’t belong on my list, but it’s true, I always need more…lol.

get organized. This could be because I’ve only lived in this house for a few months and haven’t figured out the best rooms for things to go in. I’m currently switching my craft room, exercise room and bedroom, so the whole house is kinda in messy motion.

And I can’t finish any of my works in progress. I’ve had B’s quilt hanging on my wall since the day I moved in here and it’s not done because of the binding issue.

Well I guess that’s all the I can’ts I can think of right now, but I’m sure there’s more. I’ll add ’em as I think of them, lol.

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

