Little Golden Book’s new look

I mentioned this project in one of my earlier posts, so as promised, here are the pictures of the Little Golden Book make over.

Again, the pictures are seriously horrible, I will try to add some better ones of the finished project as soon as I get a free second to run outside and find some sunny spot to set up.

First, though, I have to talk about my two favorite glues. If you’ve read any of my other posts you’ve seen some pics of the first glue already. It’s Aleene’s Clear Gel Tacky Glue. I got mine about two years ago at Joann’s, and let me tell you, this stuff is amazing. I’ve used it for everything from books to shoes to necklaces, and I love it beyond belief. I can’t remember exactly what I paid for it, but I know it was way less than ten bucks, and two years later I’m still using the same bottle, so it really goes a long way.

The second is a glue stick made by Scotch. As in, the Scotch tape people. It’s called the wrinkle free glue stick, and it’s really not lying, it does not wrinkle. I hate using glues that ruin the pictures you’re adhering to your project, and for that very reason, a lot of times in the past I’d skip a project that looked fun just because I didn’t want to mess with the glues and get frustrated. Well, this glue has stopped all that. I think it was under five dollars and two sticks come in a pack at Wal-Mart, so it was cheap and worth every penny.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Okay, now that the glue glory days are over, on to the project itself.

My kid collects books like grown up women collect shoes. Lately she’s been getting kind of bored of the same old ones, and especially one of her Little Golden Books that she’d carried around in her purse for months. The pages were ratty and wrinkled but the cover was in good shape. I was wondering what I could possibly do with it besides throwing it out when I realized how easy it would be to open it up and replace the story book papers with blank papers of my own.

The first thing I did was take all the printed pages out of it. Little Golden Books are only held together with two staples along the spine (well, the older ones are anyway, I couldn’t tell ya about the new ones, sorry) so I used a knife to take the two staples out.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Then I had to figure out a way to add my own pages.

This should have been simple – just use a stapler, right? Well, that didn’t work out so well. My little stapler wasn’t strong enough to go through the binding and the pages, and my big staple gun was out of staples. So I improvised. I used my scissors to make two hold in the covers, one toward the bottom and one toward the top; it came out pretty messy, but it works. I stuck a brad through to take a picture to show you the basic idea:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

That’s just one hole. When you put yours together, you’ll want to punch holes in all of your pages at the same place as the hole in the covers, then thread the brads through the front cover, through the pages, and through the back cover, where you can close it securely.

I used mostly blank white copy paper for my art journal, since that’s what I prefer to draw on. I just traced the open book on to one blank page and cut the page out a tiny bit smaller than the tracing lines. Then I folded the cut pages in half, with the raw edges toward the outside of the book, and I had a nice stack of pages to draw on. I used twelve pieces of paper, which gave me twenty-four sheets in all. When I had the book all put together, I had to trim a few pages, because I’m not the neatest cutter, but this is what the inside of the book looks like:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

You can be done at this step if you choose to be, especially if you used a book you really like, and whose cover you adore. I didn’t adore this one so much, so I decided to cover it up, but I was careful not to cover the golden spine, since it adds to the novelty of the book. I used the glue stick and adhered a piece of green card stock to the front. I folded the paper around the inside of the front of the book and glued it down.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

At this point, I quit taking pictures for some stupid reason. I decorated the green paper with some stamps, and added a thin blue ribbon along the edge of the spine where the green paper butted up to it. I didn’t like the look of that raw edge of the green card stock, but this step is pretty much your choice. I made the ribbon long enough to curl around into the pages of the book so I wouldn’t lose my place, and then I was done. I left the back in its original shape since I like looking at that list of books and all of the little cartoon doodles.

When I first made this book I didn’t think I’d really use it that much, I was just trying to come up with a way to recycle the book. But you know what? The book fits perfectly in my purse and I’ve had it with me every day since I made it. I draw in it, I keep lists in it, I even used it to paste in ideas of presents and decorations for the baby shower (you didn’t think I could go a whole post without using those two words, did you? lol). Anyway, it’s been indispensable, and I will definitely be making more of these as the need comes up. Hopefully though I can come up with a better way to keep it all together instead of those brads. If you have any ideas, make sure to email me so I can try it out and see how it goes.

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

2 Responses to Little Golden Book’s new look

  1. Pingback: Children’s Classics Books Blog » Little Golden Book’s new look

  2. Carol Gardens says:

    What a nice idea (now I feel bad that I tossed or donated all those books.) A long time ago I helped my students make books to give as gifts to their mothers.
    Stop using glue. Use twine or cotton string and sew the pages in leaving the string showing like dashes down the center of the book , inside(_ _ _ _). Along the spine, cover the length with one piece of fabric-type tape, cut a slit at the top and bottom ( think of how a zipper opens) and fold the tape inside the cover, on either side of the pages, at both ends. If you use a large darning needle, with a sharp point, you can go in and out of the spine and pages easily. It will hold up very well, and the tape will help the spine to hold up for a long time.You can also paste the first and the last page to the inside front and back covers, and have a child you know do an original work of art on the inside covers, just for a nice surprise for you, each time you open the journal.

Leave a Reply

