It’s a whale’s world

Or should I say, the baby shower continues again…lol.

All babies need blankets. Lots and lots of them. And Auntie needed a quick and easy present to whip out. So, two yards of flannel and a scrap of denim later, this is what I had…

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Please excuse the crappy pictures, my camera has decided it has a mind of it’s own when it comes to taking pictures inside the house, and I am just not smarter than that machine. Yet. lol.

The whale was easy. I went online and looked at some coloring book pages of whales just to get an idea of the basic shape I wanted. Then I made a pattern of a whale on a piece of computer paper and cut it out of the denim. I used a glue stick to hold the whale shape in place while I stitched around it with a satin stitch, which is just a regular straight stitch with the length set to zero. The hardest part to sew around was the tail, and actually I didn’t get it perfectly, but I’m trying to ignore that fact.

The whale also became a softie, but when the dear niece saw it, she had to have it. I didn’t even get to take pictures of it first. But since I have to make this exact blanket again (it’s a double baby shower, for best friends/cousins who are expecting boys a week apart, so they’re getting matching presents) and I want to make a whale for each of the boys, I’ll try to get some one over here to take pictures while I make the softies. So I guess that means more whale action to come shortly.

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

