The shower continues…

We decided (well, okay, I mentioned that I might be able to do it, and my sisters jumped for joy and agreed that I should) that I’d make and decorate the baby shower cake, rather than ordering one from a bakery. Yep, I really needed one more job to get ready for this thing, seriously…not. Since it’s at my house, I’m doing all the pre and post cleaning, not to mention decorating and the mountains of sewing I still have to do just to get the presents themselves done. On top of that, we have our regular routine of school work to get through, not to mention the CO’s visit this week! Anyway, enough whining. I’m here to post about crafting, not whine.

So I decided I’d better get a grip on the cake this week so everything’s ready to go next week. I went to the dollar store (my favorite place ever!) and got one of those foam boards (it’s easier to use than cardboard. Plus, I needed an excuse to go in there.) We’ve been drawing barns and farm animals all month for DD’s art class, so I had a good idea of what I wanted, and used a drawing I made last week as my pattern. Want to see it? Okay, good. You can also see the two glues I used, plus my little flower pot pin cushion that doesn’t show up so well.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

First, I cut everything out. I used a ruler to keep my lines straight and even, but I didn’t get any action shots, because no one was home with me and it’s hard to use a camera and do everything else at the same time.

After I cut everything out…

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I glued the top on one of the end pieces. I had planned on sticking toothpicks through the foam to hold it in place until the glue dried, but then I realized I don’t have any toothpicks, so I used my sewing pins instead. I used two pins for each piece, and the roof is made out of three pieces.

When I had the roof on one end piece, I wiggled the other end piece up under the loose ends of the roof and repeated the process. (I really wish I had pictures. I’m not sure how much sense this is making.)

Then, I had a roof glued on to a barn front and a barn back. For awhile I was pretty content with that. I sat on the living room floor and played with it while I watched tv. Then it suddenly dawned on me that I didn’t have any sides for the barn! So, I had to add some sides. I flipped the barn on one side and traced inside the roof and end to get the right size side. Then I cut it out and glued and pinned it on, then did the other side, and I was really done that time. Wanna see it? I knew you did…

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Except, I wasn’t really really done. I looked at my picture and realized I’d forgotten a silo. Can’t have an operating barn without a silo, you know. So, I made a temporary one just so I could see the full effect…

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The final one will be made out of either a paper towel tube or a stack of cookies covered with red frosting, which is what I’m leaning toward. The whole barn will be frosted red with a white roof and a graham cracker door with red bars across a white surface will be added right before the shower.

That’s the plan anyway. We’ll have to see how it goes. I may end up junking the whole foam thing and make an entire barn cake, I don’t know for sure yet. I do know the barn will be sitting on two layers of green iced sheet cake with a blue fruit roll-up pond, a crushed Oreo pig pen, a pretzel fence, and a bunch of haystacks made out of yellow shredded coconut. There’s going to be some plastic farm animals and a John Deere tractor in front of the barn.

I went shopping and found more stuffed animals to use for decorations too – a fluffy sheep, a chicken, a cow and a really cute pink pig. Then I made white and blue checked curtains with a red bandanna strip thrown along the top as a makeshift valence. I’ll post pictures of what the house looks like all country-fried, and keep posting my projects here as well…but can I just whine one last time? This baby shower is seriously taking over my entire life! I just hope little Eli doesn’t decide to arrive a few weeks early, or else I’m going to be entertaining 50+ people with no pregnant girl to help out!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

