Lots O’ Stuff

I have so many projects that are waiting to be blogged about here, and yet somehow I haven’t found the time or motivation to upload the pictures and get ‘er done! New content is coming soon, I promise.

In the meantime, here’s a quick rundown of what’s been going on, or is going to be going on:

I finished an awesome project for the baby shower I’m hosting in two weeks! It was a bit tricky to draft my own pattern for a whale softie but he turned out to be so adorable that I’m thinking of making extras for the already born kids that will be coming. Also, this is the first time I’ve appliqued a quilt, and the first time I’ve made two identical projects. It was fun. It’s pretty obvious why I can’t post the pictures of this one yet, but after the 18th they are coming.

I’m making a kitchen quilt/rug for the baby shower as well. The night before last I pieced together enough red and printed strips to make a yard-wide, six foot long piece that’s currently hanging on my wall like a piece of art work. I need to cut it down into four blocks and put some sashing and borders on it, but it’s kind of scary to think of cutting into it, it’s so pretty. Plus it looks almost done as it is. I’m thinking of just making it into a really long hall runner…lol.

Cheater curtains for my kitchen window are on the way as well. As soon as I go get some more fabric, that is. I never thought I’d see the day when I had to buy more red and white fabric for my kitchen, but that hall runner sure ate into my stash.

I made not one but two fabric covered bulletin boards. One for my kitchen (can you guess what color it is? Yes, that’s right…red!) and one for my bedroom in blue with flowers. I also made a pillow for the bed in the same fabric. I actually need to get the bed skirt on the bed and take some pictures of that room, as it’s the one room in the house that I love the best.

I also remade a Little Golden Book into an art journal that I love love love. I’ll probably post about that one too, I just won’t show you the crazy art work inside to save your eyes the pain, lol.

The sewing room is finally coming together. One side of it is dd’s homeschooling area, the rest is all mine, and I have even been keeping my stuff organized in there! Pictures soon.

Before we ever moved, we painted my old living room walls green and the floor yellow. I loved that room so much, but my green couches didn’t really look great against the green walls, so I planned a green and white quilt for the back of the couch. I finished it, hated the edges, and took it apart just before we decided to move, so for the past eight months or so it’s been sitting in my unfinished projects bin. With the baby shower coming up, I want the house to feel done, and let me tell you, this place is so much bigger than my other house that it feels empty. Even if all of my pictures and art work were hung up (yes, most of it’s still in boxes in the garage, sue me, lol) it would still feel nakey in here. So the huge couch quilt is getting finished. I may hang it on a wall, or it could just be a throw, I haven’t figured it out yet, but either way it should be done by the end of the week. I can’t wait to photograph it, either, I already have a plan in mind.

Um…that might be it as far as projects go. The baby shower is a country fried ho-down theme, so the house is getting decked out with country decorations. I’m kind of curious to see how that’s going to go with the den, since that room has lots of modern stuff and really sleek black lines. We’ll see what the pregnant girl comes up with. She’s a decorating genius so I’m sure it will look perfect. I just have this funny feeling that she’s going to make me empty that entire room and redo it all…which would be better than having her be irritated with me for refusing, so of course I’ll do whatever she says, at least until after the baby’s here!

That’s about it for the moment, but I will try to get some pics taken and show off the projects asap. :0)

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

One Response to Lots O’ Stuff

  1. Pingback: Funny Blog » Blog Archive » Lots O’ Stuff

Leave a Reply

