30 Minute Meals

In my never ending quest to be a more efficient housewife, I’ve been watching Rachael Ray like crazy lately. It never fails to amaze me that she can whip up an entire meal in just thirty short minutes. I watch for her tips and tricks, and something I’ve realized is that before she sets foot in the kitchen, all of her pots and pans are already clean and waiting. She doesn’t have to dig around under cabinets to find the pot and lid she needs. Her utensils are all in one big drawer (well, I’m assuming it’s a drawer, I’ve never seen that side of the kitchen) so she can get to them easily, and her pantry is always full and her fridge is just mysteriously prepped with what she needs. These things are never going to happen in my house…well, the organized pantry and stuffed fridge, anyway. I try to stay on top of the staples that we use all the time – noodles and rice and potatoes and fresh veggies and watermelon. Those are things I always have on hand. As for meat, most of the time I’ve got a whole chicken for baking, a bag of chicken breasts, a few pounds of hamburger meat and sometimes some pork chops. That’s about as close to a shopping list as I ever come.
But what takes me the longest out of anything, and prevents my meals from being 30 minute meals, and instead turns them into hour long feats of intense frustration, is the chopping and dicing. Rachael Ray can turn an onion into minced pieces in three point two seconds. My record time is probably six minutes, and it ends up with tears running down my face, the onion pieces being seventeen different sizes and no where near uniform, and the stress and sweat and under the breath swearing has turned dinner into a nightmare.
So I’ve just had to realize that being an organized and efficient cook is not my forte. As much as I love watching 30 Minute Meals, it’s never going to be my way of life, so I have to just accept that. I am not a Rachael Ray, a June Cleaver or even a wayward Martha Stewart. And that, my friends, is the revelation of the day.
What are you not? What have you had to accept and why? What would you change if you could? And, of course, what amazing tips do you guys have on housewifey stuff in general?

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

