Wrong day, new link

Hi all!

Okay, so I’m a little ahead of the schedule here, but I wanted to write this post right now, while I have some down time to get it done.

In my never-ending quest to keep my creative juices flowing, I’ve often used journals to keep track of my thoughts and ideas. I’m never consistent enough to do the whole 365 days a year thing, but I would love to be (by the way, I’ve only missed one day since I started my 365 Photo Challenge, and every day I’ve taken way more than just one picture. They’ll be posted sometime this week. Promise.) It seems like I run out of things to write about though. You can only do the same old “I did the cleaning today and tomorrow I’ll go grocery shopping” so many times before it gets boring, you know?

One of my other hobbies is searching the internet for cool sites to use. I came across one that has helped in my journaling so much. Daydreamingonpaper has an amazing generator that gives you a different writing prompt each time you click the ‘Inspire Me’ button. On the site there are tons of ideas for journal keeping, ways to make your own books, and lots of other fun stuff.

I hate notebooks and diaries because most of the pages are too little for my tastes. I hate making a page look ugly with my messy writing, so unlined art books don’t work so well for me either. What I am considering is a journal box rather than a journal in book form. I want to date each piece that goes into the box so at the end of the year I can look back on what happened and have the dates at hand. I want to try my hand at lots of different mediums for this project – photos, water colors, scrapbooking, pencil, whatever seems appropriate that day. Maybe if the rules are a little less rigid than the normal way of keeping a journal I’ll be able to do it. I know I need to do it, to keep track of my emotions and the events that go on, so we shall see.

Today’s topic on Daydreaming is:
List ten types of experiences you enjoy collecting.
I’m going to have to think about this. I’ve never really considered myself an experience collector. But there are always new ways at looking at things, and this is something I’m actually interested in thinking about some more, so I’ll give it a shot and put it in my journal box and see what happens.

If you feel up to it, I’d love to see what your tens are, so leave me some comments and let’s get the discussion going!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

