Let me let go

Let me let go
Let me let go
of the resentment,
of the anger,
of the desire to stay mad,
of the need to be right at all costs,
of the thrill of having something to hold over your head.

Let me let go
of the lack of self-control,
of the way I smile when I know I hurt you over it,
of the thirst for vengeance that’s never far from my lips,
of the tears that fall when you can’t see them,
of the regret that burns holes in my trust and love.

Let me let go
of the want to punish you for all the times you scarred me,
of the “knowledge” that I am a better person than you could ever be,
of the fury that can be unleashed on a moments whim,
of the bitterness that tinges my tongue,
of the neglect that keeps me from seeking you honestly.

Let me let go
of the things that hold me back,
of the cravings that destroy my spirituality,
of the patterns that keep me locked in these chains,
of the childish words “you did it first” and “I told you so”,
of the coals that feed the fire of rage.

Let me let go
of that which I cannot change,
of that which I have no right to change,
of those things that can only be changed by you,
of the self-blame, self-loathing and self-disrespect,
of the need for blame, for loathing, for disrespect.

Let me let go

and catch me with your love

again.

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

Leave a Reply

