A new link

For a long time now, I’ve been trying to come up with an easy way to make some spindles to store my ribbons, cd’s, dvd’s and whatever else I come up with that will fit on them. I could always ask my hubby but that sort of defeats the purpose. One, because I want the spindles to be BethieB originals, and two, because if I tell him I want ordinary, simple spindles, I will end up with some huge masterpiece of wooden workmanship that doesn’t resemble my original plan in the least. Anything he does turns into a major undertaking of master carpenter proportions, and I am just not into that right this minute. Don’t get me wrong, sometimes his zeal and creativity are just what I’m looking for, but for this project, I just want simple.
Well, I kept thinking of this project, but never bothered to actually research it or start on it even. Then, today, I was over at SewMamaSew.com, checking to see who won the free fabric (sadly, it wasn’t me, again) when I came across a blog link that showed…gasp!…how to make some super cute and simple spindles!
So now I’m off to the craft store to find those wooden discs she used as bottoms.
And guess what? I found the cord to my camera, so when I get started on this project, I can take some pictures and use it for one of my Project Portfolio Friday’s! Yay!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

2 Responses to A new link

  1. periwinklejane says:

    Keen! I’m so glad you liked my idea. I hope yours turn out neater than mine did … I’m guessing with a handy husband you have some pretty nice tools at your disposal – no filling in giant holes with Gorilla Glue for you! (but check the drill bit sizes before you buy the dowel, just in case 😉 -Angela

  2. messymama says:

    The problem is that we have too many tools, lol…He wants to use them all! And actually, I bought a tube of Gorilla Glue several years ago, and I’ve been waiting to use it, so I’m pretty excited to try it! =0)

Leave a Reply

