Summer Update

After a five week vacation from blogland, I think I’m ready to get back in the saddle again! (Or would that be, back on the keyboard? Hmm).

I finally broke out the sewing machine Monday night. Honestly, from the second we walked into this new house and started unpacking, my mind was so thrashed with worries and plans and I-have-to-do-this-NOW that I couldn’t even think of being a creative sewer. In fact, for the first four weeks, none of my machines were even down here at the new house (yes, it took over four weeks to move all of our stuff. We did it a little at a time to avoid overwhelming ourselves, but it was still severely overwhelming.) Now, two of the three machines are sitting pretty in my HUUUGEE sewing room, and my newest, the purple one, is waiting patiently on the floor in her case. Soon, soon, soon I will have pictures to post. I would have them now, but somewhere in the move the charging cord for the camera got shuffled out of place and I haven’t exactly found it yet.

Anyway, I sewed on Monday night for the first time in over a month. I needed a Binder Cover so I googled it. There are so many incredible tutorials out there for this! And of course, just this morning in SewMamaSew’s newest Create and Celebrate blog post there was a to-die-for one that I wish I would have used instead.

So now I may have to make another one…or ten…whichever, lol. Since I have an entire bookshelf dedicated to binders full of research and plans, this could go on and on.

Also, I have in mind a crumb quilt. I can’t reveal more than that at this point in time, but trust me, it’s ingenious.

So, my creativity seems to have come back as strong as ever before, if not stronger, after my extended hiatus. I can’t wait to post more projects as I get them started and finished.

Anyone want to see pics of the new house and the empty sewing room? Let me know. I could probably manage to dig up the charging cord for the chance to show off…lol.

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

2 Responses to Summer Update

  1. Lola says:

    I’m glad you like my binder tute! About the Paci pocket, It would be simple to add a strap to the top of it. I’ve done it to a similar pouch, and I use it for my cell phone.

  2. messymama says:

    Ohh, cell phone…now I’m thinking of all sorts of things I could use a little bag with a cute clip on it for…lol.

Leave a Reply

