Sewing Milestone

I reached a milestone in my sewing life.

I sewed something just for me. Something to wear even. And it works!

This is the top…and sort of a teaser, lol.

And here’s the whole thing! Isn’t it great? This tutorial was awesome. Easy instructions, easy idea, and so fast it’s not funny. I whipped this thing up in just under an hour, and it’s only the second time I’ve ever sewn clothing! And it’s sooo comfy. I’ve been wearing it pretty much since I made it, and I love it. Seriously. As you can tell from the somewhat shiny floor (lol) I’ve been cleaning all day, that’s where the garish kid’s jewelery on my wrist came from. I found the beads on the floor beneath the kitchen table along with the watch I’ve been missing for weeks and a bunch of rings in a little basket my kid was hoarding. Isn’t life with monsters wonderful? :0)

On another note, Shey, I did consider returning the new machine for my money. But then I got mad. See, I’ve made a lot of day care money since I started in January, and all of it has gone to things for the house or for the girl’s school or other endless drain holes in our budget. Meanwhile, the hubby has plenty of money for the things he thinks he can’t do without, so why should I not feel the same? (Yes, this sounds kind of petty. Truthfully, it is, and I think I’m just trying to justify the overwhelming desire to have two nice machines, in all honesty. Shhh. Don’t tell anyone.) So I’m keeping them both and signing up for quilting classes, which I will take one of my sisters to with me so she can learn as well…two machines are worth it, right?
I’ll try to fix those pictures in my sewing machine blog when my guests take off. It most assuredly was an amazing haul!

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

4 Responses to Sewing Milestone

  1. Lisa Clarke says:

    Neat! Was the contrasting trim a part of the sheet already, or did you add that?

  2. messymama says:

    It was the top of the sheet, already there…how cool is that, right? I was so excited to find a sheet with that hem that I didn’t realize it’s a full, not a twin. When I made the skirt I did cut twenty inches out of the width, but now that I’ve seen the tag (on the other end of the sheet, of course, where I totally missed it, lol) I realize I should have cut more out to make it less full. But, it’s grown on me today even more, and I wouldn’t change a thing about it, so I’m thrilled. :0)

  3. Shazam says:

    I love it, that is so cute! Now…where the heck is mine? *checking my mail box*

  4. messymama says:

    I don’t know how to make them in XX-Small, only XX-large, sorry…lol

Leave a Reply

