Oh, this day…

First and foremost, I’m here to whine. That’s about all the goodness I feel like contributing to blogland today – haha. So, if you don’t want to read my list of complaints, I will not – I repeat, not – feel in the least bit ignored or slighted. Feel free to run away now!

Well, it started because yesterday, while I was writing/sewing/taking pictures/posting my iPod cozy tutorial for Sew, Mama, Sew!, I started to feel like my head was in a metal bucket. You know how when your nose is stuffy and your ears are itchy and your throat is scratchy? That’s what I’m dealing with. It feels like a massive cold. No fever, though, thankfully; since I have such a hard time taking any kind of meds, even Tylenol, I’m terrified that I will have to break down and do it. It’s becoming some huge obsession in my foggy head: What if it’s a sinus infection, and I don’t go to the doctor and I end up fainting? (This happened to my aunt, by the way. Oh, also by the way, one of my hugest fears besides taking pills is fainting. I’ve never done it and I’m scared of it. Why, I don’t know and couldn’t explain; I just am, that’s all I know). I went to bed last night feeling slightly better and confident that I’d wake up with no symptoms this morning.

That confidence was a load of junk.

This morning I am one gigantic blob of sneezing, snuffling, coughing messiness. It’s 12:18 and I’m still in my pj’s with last night’s ponytail sticking out all over my head. I will say one thing though – since I didn’t bother to wash my face last night, I still have on some makeup, which is a plus. The minus is that on one side my black eyeliner is fading away down my cheek so it looks like I have a thin black bruise swirling around my face. I inspected it carefully in the mirror over my bathroom sink as I sucked in some steam off the very hot water. I didn’t bother to wash it off, though, that would have required too much effort. I didn’t even bother to make my bed when I got out of it – which is only second time since April 1st that I haven’t made it. The sheets came off the mattress and I keep thinking that I should pull them off and wash them, so I haven’t made the bed. The only thing is that the washer is full of wet clothes from yesterday, the dryer full of dry but cold ones from the night before, and I don’t feel like dealing with any of it long enough to get my bed linens clean. So, the result is a slightly smelly laundry room and a tangled up, unmade bed. And you know what? I just don’t have the energy to fix any of it.

Also today our housemates are moving out. The house is in a complete muddle of disarray, with half-packed boxes here, shoved couch sets there, carpets that need shampooed over there…and again, I am not only being of no help to anyone who could use it, I just don’t have the energy to feel bad about being lazy.

One good thing is that I’m wrapped up in my quilt and have lots of shows I need to catch up on online (Gossip Girl, anyone?) I am looking forward to that. It’s rare that I have absolutely nothing I have to do on a Friday, so it’s a good time to be sick. Plus when the hubby gets home he won’t mind going to the store and getting me some OJ and chicken broth, both of which sound amazing right now. I plan on taking a long steamy shower and an even longer nap later today, which I am looking forward to even more than watching my shows. Plus, DD is over at the neighbors house, who happen to be my in-laws, and they never mind taking care of her. That’s a wonderful luxury – built-in babysitters right less than a hundred feet away. Some people might dread the thought of being that close to their in-laws, but I’m dreading the thought of having to move away.

The saddest thing about today is that I don’t get to take my sewing machine into the shop and I really need to. It’s only sewing backward. Seriously. To make it sew forward I have to hold the buttonholer level all the way forward (ever tried sewing with just one hand? It’s not fun) and every ten to fifteen stitches it makes this really loud clunky noise and quits sewing forward. Do sewing machines have a neutral gear? It’s like it’s getting stuck there. I don’t know why. But it needs a sewing machine doctor and I can’t haul it in today, which means no working on my quilt today…sigh.

Well, it’s time for some pictures. I need some cheering up, don’t you? So, here’s some happy thoughts to look at…

Quilt blocks in the sun

Roses that smell like heaven

And love that makes the world a place worth living.

I feel cheered up now, don’t you?

About messymama
I'm a SAHM with a busy schedule and a love of too many things to count! I sew, I write, I draw, and I love to create. I'm always on the lookout for a new project idea. One other very important thing about me - my house is in a continual state of upheaval and mess. Slowly but surely I'm working through the piles and boxes, but I am still in the process, and some days it seems like it would be much easier to pack up and move!

2 Responses to Oh, this day…

  1. sheasa says:

    UGH, it sucks to be sick! I had the damn flu 3 times in a row. Now that the sun is out it should rid the world of filth. Oh, by the way, why does and Ipod need to be cozy? Instead, shouldnt it wear heals and negligee the way the rest of us have to? xo

  2. messymama says:

    I’ll keep that image in mind for my next iPod cozy – heels, lace and lipstick. Maybe even some black leather…lol!!!!!

    I am worshiping the sun right now. From behind window glass, since when I go outside it takes all of thirteen seconds for the sneezes to hit my poor sore nose full-force…ugh.

Leave a Reply

